Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This is wonderful! I used 2 cups black beans & 1 cup pinto and left out the jalapeno. I also followed the advice of others and didn't add the salt until I was mashing the beans. Only used 2 teaspoons of sea salt. Didn't add any more liquid during mashing however a day or two later the beans thickened up in the fridge so next time I will make them a little thinner. I will also try low sodium chicken broth in place of the water to see if/how that changes the flavor. My Hubby who doesn't like refried beans loved these and is all ready asking me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
As advertised! I'm surprised by this recipe. Thank goodness we followed advice and used only 2 tsp salt instead of 5. It is every bit as good as store-bought and is better for us. Plus there's much potential for experimentation by adding more/less spice, jalapenos, vegetables, cheese... We reduced the salt but increased the cumin to 1/2 tsp. We stuck with 1/2 of one jalapeno. It had a tiny zing to it but our 7-month-old baby ate it without pause. We also drained the water but left the onion in and pureed it. We'll be adding this to our regular rotation. No more canned refried beans. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I tried this recipe with the only change being half water and half chicken stock. It was very salty. It could be because we don't eat a lot of salt in our house. Next time I will cut down the salt to 2 1/2 teaspoons. Otherwise they were great! Wonderful flavor and consistency. We will freeze some for next time. I may never buy canned beans again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNJWAND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
made two batches for a crowd - tasted great - lots of great comments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Was looking for a way to get the refried flavor without having to cook it the way my mom taught me. Found this recipe and absolutely love it! So much flavor that I could it the beans alone. Will definitely be adding this to my recipe book and share with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Great recipe. I made this for a family dinner. The beans were so delicious, I decided not to mash them. The family raved over them. I made this recipe several times since. I did also reduce the salt like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
My favorite! Definitely use veggie broth, or beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great! I don't buy canned anymore. I make a good-sized batch and freeze portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Amazing! I love refried beans but I don't often buy the cans because frankly - it looks like something Fido would eat. These were delicious and creamy. I did tone down the salt a bit and reduced the amounts for our small family and I used 1/2 water and 1/2 homemade beef broth. Definitely worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States