Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Very easy and very delicious. We made burritos with cilantro lime brown rice, and a little bit of cheese. I upped the cumin, used 4 cups low sodium chicken broth and 5 cups water. I ladled out the liquid instead of trying to strain it from a hot slow cooker. Save the liquid, you may need to add some when warming up leftover beans. I will make this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I gave this recipe a 5 star because it turns out great following the recipe minus some salt or adding additional things to it. It is cost efficient, healthier and delicious! I make it on a regular basis and my children love it. Thank you for a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhl, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This was awesome. Will definitely be making this regularly. Great with some jalapeno jack cheese and sour cream. I had a roasted chicken carcass available so I boiled that in about 10 cups of water for a couple of hours and then had the 8 cups of broth left to use for this instead of water. I drained off about 6 cups of liquid and then used an immersion blender. It was not as thick as I think most people would like, so probably better to follow instructions and add the liquid back in as you blend/mash them. But leftovers did get thicker. I then used the liquid I pulled off to make Spicy Black Bean Slow Cooker Soup (from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Loved it! Goes great with Taco Salad or Cornbread. I did not mash the beans and they were just as good. I used 4 cups of low sodium chicken broth, 5 cups of water and 1 tsp of salt. I used 1 tsp of cumin and chopped jalapenos from a jar. I served it with sour cream and chopped green onions. Chopped chipotle pepper in adobo sauce would be great in this. Next time, I will use a tblsp of Cajun Seasoning instead of the Cumin for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This recipe is way too salty and has too much pepper. I made the recipe as written, should have read the reviews first. I guess it is a simple fix so 2 stars instead of 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Being a vegetarian, this recipe has become a staple for me. I love how healthy and yummy these beans are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I was raised on beans with pork, my mom was from the south. These are by far the best beans I have ever had. I am now a vegitarian and the flavor in this recipe is wonderful. I did decrease the salt when I made them. Theses will go into my frequent rotation. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
5 tsp of salt is way too much. Another recipe puts 1tsp, and I'm going to try that. I had to throw it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
We make these beans all the time. Everybody has different tastes. So for my family, I had to make a few adjustments. We like our beans less salty and with less pepper. Use 1/2 the salt, only add 1/4 tsp. of pepper, 1 T. garlic, no cumin, or jalapeno. Kids will eat the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States