Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Good but needs at whole teaspoon of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
It takes hours to make the refried beans (Mexican way), and the beans doesn't come out; well; like beans. This recipe is easy and the beans is very flavorful. My hubby loves this recipe, no more making bean the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The first time I made this was a disaster. The beans were still hard after 8 hours and I had big chunks of onion. The second time I soaked the beans for a few hours and sliced the onions. Turned out wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I doubled the recipe for a party. After it was cooked, I strained the liquid off into another pot and then mashed the beans in the crock, adding the captured bean water as I went. Two things I would've done differently are: cut down the salt and add a lot more liquid than I thought I needed because the warm setting on my crock pot really dried up the beans. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Nobody in my house would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
First off, I live at a high altitude (a bit over 7,000 ft.) but the beans were still done after 8 hours, which is awesome. I didn't use jalapeno, which I think I will next time as these were bland. Also WAY too salty, probably 3 teaspoons (or less) is enough, especially if you are eating it with cheese, as that adds salt anyway. I doubled the cumin (in another recipe I have it calls for 2 tsp. with this many beans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great recipe! But DO cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I grow my own pinto beans and my family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was an awesome dish! I read other reviews, and decided to use 3 Cups chicken broth for liquid, and only 2 tsp. of salt. So easy and awesome, not any leftovers at the family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
A bit salty, I should have read the other reviews, but really easy and tasty nonetheless . A refried taste without the high fat content. I'll make this recipe again but will reduce the salt !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States