Refreshing Watermelon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
The recipe I made used fresh mint instead of cilantro (which is a good thing because I do not like cilantro). It is the most refreshing salad I have ever eaten. Perfect for a hot humid day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Hmmm...this is a tough one for me to rate. I made this to accompany dinner tonight & it was not well recieved, though I thought it was decent. When throwing it together I measured out the cilantro but only used 1/2 a watermelon and one big english cucumber & decided that was good enough. I also reduced the amount of feta to 6 oz and the amount of lime juice to 2 tbs. As no one in our family is really a fan of red onions, I just omitted them altogether. My suggestion would be to anyone who makes this salad, try to assemble it as close to meal time as possible because my watermelon ran ALOT & it looked more like soup by dinner time. Not too appealing, though beforehand it was very attractive. My sister wouldn't touch it at dinner & my parents said it was "okay" and that I didn't need to make this one again. I sort of felt the same...it was good, but not great like I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is a GREAT salad to have in warm & hot weather! I had no positive expectations. I was pleasantly & thoroughly surprised that all the flavors came together in such a delightful manner! I made this as written, except for the cheese. I happened to have Manouri & not Feta. Manouri is another Greek cheese, which is almost as salty as Feta, but slightly drier & denser. It was excellent! We'll be enjoying this salad many times throughout the hot summer & autumn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I really wanted to like this but it just didn't suit us at all. I didn't like the texture of the feta and watermelon together at all, and even the flavors were a bit off for me. I love watermelon, and the feta cheese kind of "ruined" it. I cut back on the cilantro by half, because although I'm starting to appreciate cilantro more I still need to have it in small doses or it's too overwhelming for me. It still didn't seem to fit in this dish, so I think I should have stuck to my instincts and used fresh mint instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I made only one fourth of the recipe and poured the lime juice right at serving time. I really liked the sweet and salty taste of the salad but even though I like Cilantro, I did not think it went well in the salad. I only used it for a small portion of the salad for the sake of rating and for the photo, but then I used basil in the rest of the salad and we really liked it. It brought out the sweetness and freshness of the watermelon. I will make this again but with basil and will assemble the salad right before serving. With the changes, it's a 5 star salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Taking other reviewers suggestions I used mint instead of cilantro. This was really good and refreshing. My BF and I ate this as a side with a sandwich for lunch and I cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This salad just wasn't for us. I scaled the recipe back since there are only 2 of us but followed it as written. The cilantro was too over powering and the Feta was over bearing. I'm wondering if using in season melo would make a difference? Also, I think mint or basil (as someone else suggested) would go better in this. Don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsM...!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Well, I liked it. My family, mistakenly thinking there is a food better than watermelon, thought it was okay. They said it is an attractive salad and the comment was made that those flavors together will take some getting used to. I agreed there. I think I will try it again and play with the flavors a little and see if we can't make it a little less savory. I think that could be accompolished by leaving out the salt, pepper and some of the cilantro and adding some herbs from my herb garder of lemon and cinnamon basil. Over all I think it is good but I love watermelon any way at all. I'm still thinking about the cheese. I'm giving it four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I wish I had taken a picture because this was such a pretty dish, but I made it at the cottage and had forgotten my camera. I used mint instead of cilantro since by majority my family doesn't care for the cilantro. I was surprised that even the kids enjoyed this dish since they don't often try anything with feta in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Insomniac Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I used mint instead of cilantro because it sounded better to me and I love fresh mint. My family enjoyed this one, but thought there was too much onion in it (which may have been my fault because I scaled the recipe way down and didn't really measure all the ingredients). Overall, probably not something I would make many more times, but it was a nice and refreshing change. Very colorful and pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States