Refreshing Watermelon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
LOVED this! I figured I would like it, but this salad really wowed me. I love the sharp contrast of flavors; the saltiness of the feta plays off the watermelon so nicely. I did have to use lemon juice, as I was out of limes. Definitely will make this again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used mint, preferring it over cilamtro. It still wasn't a big hit at the bbq. I wasn't a fan either, but this is all personal taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Good! I really did like the flavors. I used mint rather than cilantro and I'm really glad I did, although definitely watch how much mint as it can overwhelm the salad. I also used a sweet onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I've made this recipe twice for BBQ's with friends - both times there were no left overs-:). I followed the recipe, used cilantro, & added the lime juice/red onion & salt right before serving. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I absolutely loved this salad. I was expecting to like it anyway as I do love sweet/savoury combinations and was anticipating the saltiness of the feta to counteract with the juiciness of the watermelon, which it does! I found that I had no fresh coriander to hand so I used flat leaf parsley instead. It was still wonderful. Perfect for a hot summer day! On a side note, my partner did not enjoy it so much, although he admitted it tasted very good. He just could not get his head around the fact that watermelon was the main ingredient and not something like tomatoes - tough luck for him, as I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
DELICIOUS blend of flavors, texture. The sweet watermelon w/ the cucumber crunch & sharp feta & onions is wonderful! Thankx CHICA3578!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I too was skeptical about the combination but the watermelon works very well in this savory dish. I suppose it adds a sweetness that would otherwise come from a dressing. The outcome was a nice surprise. Don't overdo it on the onion or it will overpower the other flavors. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I tought this was good. The watermelon I had wasn't that great, a little soft. So I'm sure if I had a better watermelon it would've been much better. Still was good though. I used some fresh basil instead of cilantro because thats what I had and I'm not a huge an of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Insomniac Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I used mint instead of cilantro because it sounded better to me and I love fresh mint. My family enjoyed this one, but thought there was too much onion in it (which may have been my fault because I scaled the recipe way down and didn't really measure all the ingredients). Overall, probably not something I would make many more times, but it was a nice and refreshing change. Very colorful and pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I wish I had taken a picture because this was such a pretty dish, but I made it at the cottage and had forgotten my camera. I used mint instead of cilantro since by majority my family doesn't care for the cilantro. I was surprised that even the kids enjoyed this dish since they don't often try anything with feta in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States