Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Great salad! I added half a cup of wild rice (cooked). No butter, no capers, no extra olive oil (except for a tiny bit to sauté the garlic). Added sun dried tomatoes, A LOT of spinach, roasted the pine nuts in the oven, kalamati olives, lemon and Girard's Greek salad dressing. Cooked the Orzo in chicken broth as recommended and it was fine. Not too salty. Added the pepper flakes. Waited to add Feta until salad was completely cooled. Really excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great base recipe, I left out Thyme ( just don't like it) added sundried tomatoes and it was great, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This salad is amazing! It makes a lot, and tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeybunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Meh. Used half the capers, no juice to keep it less salty, also cooked the orzo in 1/2 water, 1/2 broth. Nice universal base for orzo salad, but needs something extra, maybe sundried tomatoes to dress it up. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
First let me say that this is a great side salad. Had it with pork loins tonight and it was well received. Now for the problems...4 cups of broth is not enough liquid for a whole box of orzo. I eyeballed it and ended up with 3/4 of a 16 oz box stirred into boiling broth. Pop the lid on and in 10 minutes or so we had no liquid left. Stirred it well several times while cooling down as well as throwing in the chopped baby spinach to let it wilt. Toasted the pine nuts dry and set them aside. Used the butter to help with sticking and added garlic flavored olive oil as well...just a drizzle. Let this cool down stirring every ten minutes or so. When cool add diced shallot, feta, olives and pine nuts. I also added some chopped grape tomatoes. This seemed dry after a few hours though not sticky. I did add a very small amount of Greek salad dressing and stirred it in. It added great flavor but kept the nongreasy texture. Makes a lot but will make good lunch. Mikomine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Delish!, tho as usual, I has to scale it down for two for my small family according to the ingredients on hand as best I could. I used regular black olives cause I had a partial can open, and a bit less of the amount than called for of fresh spinach. I used everything else per recipe specs (using a scale, as my hubs is dieting and being strict about tracking his calories). I did find the end result to be VERY dry, perhaps because of not using the entire jar of capers and liquid, so I had to toss in a tablespoon or so of EVOO to make it loose enough to even eat. All in all, tho, it's a salad. It's absolutely scrumptious and will give the diner much delish nutrition, but it is NOT "diet" friendly, unless one plans it to be the entree. I personally didn't care all that much; this salad was yummy enough to warrant a few extra miles on the bike, and I was looking for a recipe to use up the fresh spinach I had in the fridge. Thanks for posting, as I don't know I'd have thought of either cooking the orzo in chicken broth, or of mixing the spinach with pasta. YUM! Delish result!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
The pine nuts and kalamata olives really make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
How can you call it an Orzo Salad when there is NO ORZO???!!! Orzo Pasta Salad, maybe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I cooked this orzo dish exactly as instructed and it was delicious! The flavors all mingle together for a fantastic forkful everytime--the red pepper flakes make a nice (but not overwhelming) POP! It's delicious both hot and cold. Also, looks really pretty when served in a nice pasta bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was good, I added a few things to give it an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States