Refreshing Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made this to take to work for lunch. It's good on its own or with lettuce, which I did to make it a meal. I really like the lemon flavor. I don't care too much for chilled tomatoes, so next time I'll add just before serving or leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.Dalrymple

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I used double the amount of water as lentils, so I didn't have to drain anything, and used a yellow onion instead of the red variety. Great tasting salad! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Good recipe and fully enjoyed. NOTE: You MUST rinse your dried lentils very well before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is a nice change of pace. I did not have a green chili, so I used 3 shakes of tabasco sauce, otherwise I made it as written. I will make again, it would be good to take to a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
YUMMY!!!! My 11 year old daughter and I just finished making this, and we could not stop "tasting" the warm salad waiting to go in the fridge. I did not have cilantro, though I am sure it would have made it taste even better. Didn't use olives, and put in one extra tomato and red and yellow bell pepper in place of the green. This is so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Aptly named, this colorful lentil salad is indeed refreshing and delicious. I used quartered cherry tomatoes because that is what I had available and I did not bother with the hard boiled eggs. I’m always looking for a unique and tasty side to bring to a barbeque and this fits the bill. It is also wonderful as a light lunch served on a bed of lettuce with peak season sliced tomatoes layered with fresh mozzarella on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This beautiful dish has excellent texture, but i found it in need of a punch of flavor. Increasing the heat with a jalapeno pepper, adding more fresh herbs, or increasing lemon juice might help. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
HOLY MOLY!! This is an incredible salad! So fresh, it is very refreshing!! I made it as per instructions except minus the onion since I didn't have a red onion on hand and I am 45 miles from the grocery store but the flavor is FAB! If anyone complains that there isn't meat protein in this dish, serve it alongside some tuna and some bread with melted cheese on it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I used this as a basic recipe and played around with it a bit. Trader Joes has a great packaged lentil which is all ready to go. I added everything but also added cucumber, red pepper, kalamata olives, only half the lemon. I didn't add the lemon zest or the cilantro. I added some diced jalepeno pepper, sea salt, and curry powder. I left out the eggs as I am vegan. Super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Very good. I actually don't care for many of the ingredients, but together they are great. I cut down on the olive oil as I'm dieting, and added a bit of fresh mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadowbright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States