Refreshing Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Very refreshing, however the onions make for some killer breath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
OMG!! This is the exact same salad my Grandma used to make. Thank you! I could never get the amounts right and this was perfect! However, I did make some changes due to personal taste as well as what was on hand. I made a Quadruple batch so I used 4 large cukes, 2 md white onions, 5 Roma tomatoes, 1 cup mayo, 4 Tbl white vinegar, 1 tsp salt, 2 tsp pepper and 1 tsp minced garlic. I highly suggest that you whisk the dressing stuff first...then pour over the veggies and carefully stir. Otherwise it's not going to mix very well, and it absolutely must sit for AT LEAST 1-2 hours before eating, plus this is even better the next day, as the flavors then have enough time to truly blend and set, especially after the water is pulled from the tomatoes (which is what some people think is "runny", but that is actually your "dressing" so don't drain it! It has all your flavors in it!). I must say though, you absolutely have to check/taste the cukes for wax if you buy from a grocery store. If you can't wash all the wax off, then you must peel them completely, or your salad will be extremely bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
great when following a few of the previous reviewer's suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This recipe was fabulous! Refreshing and delicious... I followed a reviewers advice and added sour cream and dill and these additions made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but after letting it sit for a few hours, added just a touch more vinegar and a combo of fresh mint and dill. It's an excellent cuke salad recipe for when you don't have any sour cream on hand. Very refreshing when served ice cold. Thanks Shawna Rae! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great recipe. Easy to make! I used cider vinegar instead of white. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Petzold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made the recipe as is...my husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
trying to find a recipe that reminds me of what my grandmother used to make and this came pretty close. my whole family liked it and they are really hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papiernikc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I didn't have mayo so used Miracle Whip. Probably would be better with mayo. I added about one-third of a green pepper that I needed to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States