Reduced Fat Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was quick and easy! The peppers and onion in the frozen potatoes give it a nice flavor and the pepper in the gravy mix seasons it perfectly! We had it without the green onions and cheese and it was thick and delicious. I would make this again with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This soup is great. I added extra onion flakes and garlic powder for more flavor. I also used a gravy mix with pepper. Compliments to Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Holy cow, Stephanie. You outdid yourself on this one. I can hardly believe that so few ingredients are capable of turning out a soup with the rich and creamy taste that this soup has. It's a piece of cake to make and so amazingly good. It really tastes as if a master chef had prepared it for an upscale restaurant. I only have one caveat to share. I could not find the fat-free country style gravy mix. If anybody knows where this can be found or even what brand to look for, I would appreciate the help. I went to two different stores and still couldn't find the fat free stuff. So, I settled on Williams Brand Country Style Gravy Mix. For those of you that are nutritionally conscious, there are 15 fat calories per serving and 40 calories per serving in the package I used (37% of the gravy mix calories are fat calories). Though I'm not a dietician, with the no-fat potatoes and nearly fat-free chicken broth reducing the impact of the gravy mix's contribution to overall fat in the recipe, I suspect this is still an acceptable low-fat choice. Though I suppose you probably shouldn't have 2 1/2 large bowls like I just did. I couldn't help myself. Honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was all right. I found it a bit bland so I spiced it up with extra salt, pepper, and a cajun-type seasoning. It is not a bad soup, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This soup is great low-fat meal. It is very filling, and cheap to make. Spice it up to your liking, but either way you won't beleive the low amount of calories, for all of the flavor you get. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This was great! Very filling! I didn't have any of the frozen hash browns, so I just used fresh potatoes, bell pepper, and onion, measuring out the 16 ounces total. It added a little time for chopping, but it worked out great. I did add a little parsley and some pepper and used fat free cheddar and chives since that's what I had. I will make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Extremely easy to make! Overall, the recipe was just okay. I'm not one for gravy which is probably why it wasn't a huge hit with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Great and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I couldn't believe how good this soup was with just these simple ingredients. It seemed though as if something was missing with the flavor. It needs a little zip to it. I am not a hugh cook so this recipe looked easy enough. I added some crumbled bacon and some frozen veggies and it was very delicious. I will definetly make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States