Red Wine Sesame Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I eliminated the salt. Instead of using an egg white to adhere the sesame seeds, I just rolled the dough into balls, and pressed into raw (not roasted) sesame seeds. These remind me of biscotti! Great cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
these cookies are pretty great and easy to make. its hard to waste things especially wine so after i turned leftover wine maranade leftover from a great veggie noodle dish the day bfore i threw that in for as the wine and left all the other ingredients the same. i did leave out the egg white because the dough was sticky enough as it was so i made sure to flour the table and made a long skinny snake to cut them into small pieces. thanks for the recipe im going to try the recipe exact next time and make these for a party! here was the marinade i used: (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/wine-marinade/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=red%20wine%20vegetables%20soy%20sauce&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=%2fmy%2frecipebox%2fdefault.aspx)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved these! I am a big fan of sesame so had to try these. Want to thank the other reviewers for the tips. I too excluded egg white - not needed. I used way more sesame seeds than 2 T. though - probably 4-4 1/2 total. These remind me of some of my one grandmothers savory cookies from my childhood. Fabulous. Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I've made these several times now. Very addicting. Definitely don't need the egg white wash. I don't know why I didn't rate this when I first tried it. When I saw it in today's daily e-mail it brought back memories of the first reviewer's comment about her admiraition for anyone getting the number of biscuits suggested by the submitter. Quite witty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn32789

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I couldn't get my dough to roll, it just crumbled and fell apart. maybe I did something wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Strange but likeable. I used a Cabernet in this and the biscuits turned out to be a grayish color that's not very appealing. Next time, I'll add a little red food coloring. I agree with other reviewers that the instructions were vague. I ended up rolling the dough into 3 logs and then sliced it, kind of like small biscotti. I got about 36 biscuits out of it. When these finished cooking at 30 minutes, I took one out of the oven and tried it. That was a mistake. They really need to stay in the oven to cool to get that crispness on the outside. Don't eat them until they are completely cool -- they don't taste very good when they are warm. After sitting in a tin all night, they were quite good today and made a great afternoon snack. I'll be taking a few with me for lunch every day -- they make a nice complement to soup, salad, and chicken or tuna salad. It's a nice change from bread or dry crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Surprisingly yummy. I have a tendency to try weird recipes, this qualified. The 5 minute rest time was important. It gets the baking powder activated. You want to keep those air pockets! I was very careful not to over work the dough while cutting so the cookies would remain light. Will make these again, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This recipe suffers from a problem I have found to be all too common on this site: Vague instructions. The recipes says to roll the dough into log shapes. How many? 2? 4? 10? Then it says to cut these logs into 1 inch slices in an irregular shape. What sort of shape? Octagonal? Trapezoid? or does it mean to cut on the diagonal as in biscotti? I rolled the dough into 2 logs about 12 inches long. Then I sliced it into one inch slices on the diagonal. This gave me 17 biscuit/cookies. Anyone who manages to get 48 pieces from this recipe has my admiration. The pieces would be microscopic if I did it. These came out tasting pretty good, but I am rating this recipe 2 stars due to the inexact instructions........Aug, 22nd I had to re-think my rating of this recipe. Even though I still think the instructions are ambiguous, the cookies are strangely addicting. My husband and I can't stop eating them. Will definitely make these again. Soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
These were pretty good. They have a crisp outside and are only tinged with sweetness. The biscuits are very dense-don't use these if you're looking for something fluffy. I used the egg white on half of them, but it picked up far more sesame seeds than the amount called for, so I stopped coating them, and it worked fine. I only ended up with about 20 biscuits, but that could easily be my fault. The dough was slightly difficult to roll into logs for cutting. Yet overall, they are a mellow, tasty, and filling treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
Very good recipe. Easy to make and, as advertised, the cookies are crunchy and lightly sweet. For those that may want to try it out: I didn't toast the seeds prior to coating the cookies and it worked fine: seeds toasted during the baking period. Also, skipping the egg white worked fine: seeds stuck to cookie dough with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States