Red Wine Reduction Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Though it takes some time, the result is superb! Our guests couldn't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traupmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is missing a few steps. To begin take all onions, shallots, and carrots and saute until golden brown in a couple tbs. EVOO. Next add mushrooms, two ribs celery (diced) and garlic (smashed). Saute until garlic is perfumed and deglaze pan with one quart beef or veal stock. Bring to a boil and reduce to a low simmer. To this add two sprigs fresh thyme, two bay leaves and about ten whole peppercorns and reduce this down by atleast half. Now add one bottle (750ml.) Of a good red wine (i prefer pinot noir) and reduce this down on a low simmer to half or coats the back of a spoon. Strain twice and hold warm for service.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF CLAY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Linville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Although a bit labor intensive, this sauce is worth the effort. I agree with the reviewer who said it's a bit sweet, but that worked perfectly with my ribeyes. Perhaps the sweetness could be cut by using fewer carrots or a different variety of wine. Because I had no beef broth, I used chicken and it still did the trick. Rather than cut the vegetables into small dice, I opted for medium and then saved them to serve over the meat. The next day I threw the leftover veggies, sauce, and broth into a pot with some rosemary, bay leaf, salt, pepper, and parmesan. While it cooked I grilled a couple of sausages and added them (chopped) to the mix; paired with some fresh bread, it made an excellent lunch. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Perfectly delicious reduction, I did not have any mushrooms or fresh tomatoes so I omitted the mushrooms altogether, and substituted a little tomato paste and everything was still very tasty. Be sure to keep the strained savories and vegetables to enjoy as a topper for your steak/meat, they are delicious, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I used carrots, onions, and minced garlic along with some balsamic vinegarette because that's what I had. Turned out Delicious. Great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoCoG2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is a very unusual but delicious sauce for a steak! I could have eaten it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I used your red wine reduction sauce recipe with beef tenderloin which I served as steak bites paired with halloumi ( barbeque cheese), the results were incredible!! I would definitely recommend this reduction sauce irregardless of the extra time it may take to make it, the end results and my happy guests were the proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
My daughter said this sauce is "liquid gold". Can be made up to 2 days ahead. I double recipe as it freezes well & can be a back-up when there's no leftover gravy from meat drippings. I made the following minor tweaks, based on a single recipe: FOR THE SAUTE: Use 1.5 tablespoons olive oil & 1.5 tablespoons butter. WHEN SERVING WITH BEEF TENDERLOIN: Use a large, stainless steel pan & sear roast in oil, then finish in oven, uncovered. Remove roast & cover with foil. Pour sauce into pan, to de-glaze brown bits, for added flavour. Add 1 tablespoon butter & stir until creamy smooth, for a richer, shinier sauce. Add a splash of 35% cream at end, to taste. Can thicken by dissolving 1 tablespoon cornstarch into 1 tablespoon cold water, pour into sauce & whisk for 3 minutes on medium/high heat. Strain, if necessary. I saute onions & mushrooms on medium heat in 1 tablespoon olive oil & 1 tablespoon butter to serve as a side dish. Can reserve veggies for beef based soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good - I made it for prime rib. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was so easy to make and incredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States