Red Wine Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
FABULOUS!!! This was great! I used sun-dried tomato paste for the paste and cooked pork in bacon grease seasoned with garlic salt. I also added some bacon chunks to sauce. AWESOME! Served with homemade mashed potatoes - - - a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I cooked this for dinner today. My husband told me it tasted as good as a meal at a 5 star restaurant. As some suggested, I doubled the carrots and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
YUMMY !!!! this was VERY GOOD! the only thing I did different was cook the mushroom on top of the stove in some of the pan drippings (they would have been too dried out otherwise). I will definitely make this again (well, I kind of have to since my dh told me to make it again next Sunday !)! Good with plain old mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJT96

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was wonderful! I substituted dried parsley for fresh and, like another reviewer, I did not have tomato paste on hand so I added some chopped slightly overripe tomatoes. The meat was fork tender and the flavor was wonderful. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this recipe in the slowcooker and it was absolutely delicious, extremely flavorful. I added some rosemary, thyme, oregano, honey (instead of sugar), and a little bit of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Poured it all over sliced mushrooms, carrots, onions, baby butterball potatoes, garlic, shallots and the pork -- cooked on low for about 7 hours (3-4 hours on high). Served with a side of parmesan polenta. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and my boyfriend is still talking about how great it was this morning! I used a slow cooker with a 2.5lb roast, cooking it for 6 hours (adding mushrooms at the beginning rather than waiting until the end of cooking). The meat was very tender, juicy and flavorful. I cut up a couple pieces of the bacon after frying and added them to the sauce. The only red wine I had was a shiraz, which worked just fine. I also used cornstarch to thicken the sauce at the end, and we served it over spaetzle noodles along with a freshly baked Light Oat Bread (found on this site). We will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
The pork turned out very nice, but it was generally too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
As others have said, don't let the number of raters scare you off, this is AMAZING!!!!! My husband usually doesn't like roasts (odd, I know) but he raved over this and can't wait until I make it again. I made one small change because we didn't have tomato paste on hand. I used ketchup instead and omitted the sugar. (figured it was in the ketchup) YUM, excellent recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is an amazing meal! I used a slow cooker instead of the oven, added 3/4 t rosemary, an onion and a little more wine than what the recipe showed. Unbelievably tender and tasty!!! I cut the roast with a wooden spoon! I wished I had added more carrots because they were just as amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and it was amazing. My fiance loved it too. It was so super easy, and very inexpensive. Very gourmet. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States