Red Wine Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
FABULOUS!!! This was great! I used sun-dried tomato paste for the paste and cooked pork in bacon grease seasoned with garlic salt. I also added some bacon chunks to sauce. AWESOME! Served with homemade mashed potatoes - - - a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I cooked this for dinner today. My husband told me it tasted as good as a meal at a 5 star restaurant. As some suggested, I doubled the carrots and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
YUMMY !!!! this was VERY GOOD! the only thing I did different was cook the mushroom on top of the stove in some of the pan drippings (they would have been too dried out otherwise). I will definitely make this again (well, I kind of have to since my dh told me to make it again next Sunday !)! Good with plain old mashed potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJT96

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was wonderful! I substituted dried parsley for fresh and, like another reviewer, I did not have tomato paste on hand so I added some chopped slightly overripe tomatoes. The meat was fork tender and the flavor was wonderful. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this recipe in the slowcooker and it was absolutely delicious, extremely flavorful. I added some rosemary, thyme, oregano, honey (instead of sugar), and a little bit of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Poured it all over sliced mushrooms, carrots, onions, baby butterball potatoes, garlic, shallots and the pork -- cooked on low for about 7 hours (3-4 hours on high). Served with a side of parmesan polenta. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and my boyfriend is still talking about how great it was this morning! I used a slow cooker with a 2.5lb roast, cooking it for 6 hours (adding mushrooms at the beginning rather than waiting until the end of cooking). The meat was very tender, juicy and flavorful. I cut up a couple pieces of the bacon after frying and added them to the sauce. The only red wine I had was a shiraz, which worked just fine. I also used cornstarch to thicken the sauce at the end, and we served it over spaetzle noodles along with a freshly baked Light Oat Bread (found on this site). We will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
The pork turned out very nice, but it was generally too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
As others have said, don't let the number of raters scare you off, this is AMAZING!!!!! My husband usually doesn't like roasts (odd, I know) but he raved over this and can't wait until I make it again. I made one small change because we didn't have tomato paste on hand. I used ketchup instead and omitted the sugar. (figured it was in the ketchup) YUM, excellent recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is an amazing meal! I used a slow cooker instead of the oven, added 3/4 t rosemary, an onion and a little more wine than what the recipe showed. Unbelievably tender and tasty!!! I cut the roast with a wooden spoon! I wished I had added more carrots because they were just as amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and it was amazing. My fiance loved it too. It was so super easy, and very inexpensive. Very gourmet. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States