Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I LOVE this mixture of flavours and I do it all the time, so when I saw this recipe I thought I'd put in a good word for it. I will use the whole package of onion soup mix, and perhaps double the wine (You cannot go wrong with using more wine!) and sometimes I will marinate the roast overnight in the crockpot too. (try throwing in some rosemary and black pepper too) I'll let the roast rest for a while before serving and thicken the juices after skimming the fat off and transferring to a saucepan. Leave all the tasty bits in your gravy, they're so good! It doesn't get much easier than this, or much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This was very good...I will try to spice it up a little next time. Good..not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This turned out excellent for our family. Per other reviews, I use a whole packet of onion soup mix, added some rosemary and during the last hour of cooking, I added some brown sugar overall, which really enhanced the red wine taste. The meat was very moist and we all thought is was very flavorful! A bonus is that this recipe takes only minutes to prepare!! Thanks Katie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I thought this recipe was a good basic idea, but needed some more flavor added. So to the red wine & onion soup mix I added dried rosemary, dried parsley, celery salt, worcestershire sauce, and a few whole cloves of garlic. I thought it came out pretty good, but my husband actually raved about it, which he rarely does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I make this often, however I also add 1-2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 whole garlic clove and sliced mushrooms. Served over noodles it is a hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was delicious! I didn't follow exactly though, I used an entire packet and all red wine. It turned out wonderful! I will definately make this again! Very easy to prepare, and even more delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was very good. The "gravy" was especially tasty. I took others advice and used all wine and a few sprigs of fresh rosemary. However, the presentation was dull so I didn't serve it right away. The next day, I added a 10-oz. bag of frozen pearl onions and a can of mushroom pieces (drained). I thicken the juices with arrowroot and water. Served over egg noodles with a few twists of fresh ground pepper and peas. Nice dish. We enjoyed it more the more we ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Used the entire packet of onion soup, 1 cup of wine and 1/2 cup of water. We LOVED it. It's simple and wonderful!! I thickened the juices for gravy. Superb! (and so easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kolbow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This was great-I used all red wine and a full packet of onion soup-wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
"Sooo good! I used a full envelope of Lipton's dry Beefy onion soup mix. Served with mashed potatoes to enjoy the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Leaming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States