Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Fantastic! Will be making this regularly! I substituted dried minced onion, salt and pepper for the soup mix. Super easy to make and tasted the best of any roast I've made! Would be good in sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I think the recipe was okay, but I didn't use the best cut of beef so it was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have made this using 1/2 can of regular coke and 1/2 cup of wine(sometimes more). then just sprinkle with about 1/3 of the pkg. of onion soup mix. It is wonderful. Then I will sometimes will thicken the sauce to go over potatoes or noodles. I have also just used a can of coke and no wine and it is very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tracy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
loved it! Put twice as much wine, pearl onions carrots and mushrooms. Put on top of mashed potatoes. Was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Very flavorful. I used sherry wine and could really taste it in the back ground. The seasoning was too salty so I wasnt able to make a gravy from the remaining liquid. The meat was really good. Just make sure not to cook to long in the crock pot. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was amazing! I added carrots and a few of the things others had suggested (such as more seasonings). I also thickened the sauce to form a gravy and served over mashed potatoes. My boyfriend and roommate loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This just didn't turn out very well. Added additional water because there just wasn't much juice to cook in. Also ended up cutting the meat into small pieces and stirred around with additional seasonings to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was very easy and my family liked it, but I have other recipes that I find more flavorful. I probably won't be making this one too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hadley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Not very flavorful at all. Just tasted like generic beef tips in gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was very good...first time I used red wine in cooking anything...white, yes...I always used cream of mushroom soup after the roast has started to fall apart. I thought I would try something new since I had red wine on hand, and no mushroom soup. Nice/pleasant surprise. I added the entire pack of onion soup mix. I also browned the roast in a cast iron pot, after stuffing in w/ garlic, salting and peppering it, and adding a bit of worstershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States