Red Wine Flavored Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was wonderful. I did make a couple small changes as suggested by others. I added mushrooms, thyme, 2 bayleafs, and a little garlic. I also added boulion but will not next time as it made it too salty. I strained off the juice and thickened it to make gravy and put it over noodles and the beef. Steamed green beans with butter and almond slivers finished off the meal well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
When I cook this I just add two cans of French onion soup, some fresh or dried rosemary,and garlic powder. I omit the water and just add more red wine and I use a Merlot. From there I follow the recipe. My whole family loves it especially my picky eater two year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliea Gotsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Incredibly flavorful, easy to make, we enjoyed it immensely, even our 15 year old picky eater! We did add mushrooms and thyme, more wine, water, and a whole pkg of soup mix. We thought it was important to use a good quality wine like the Cab Franc we chose, and the roast was wonderful. We thickened the broth with corn starch and water for a wonderful gravy, and served it over egg noodles. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Yum! Thanks for sharing. I use a "california roast", and add some sauteed onions, a couple of bay leaves, a bit of thyme, and some canned mushrooms. I also use the whole envelope of onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Just OK in my book. I made it with one cup of Sangiovese wine and used one cup beef broth instead of the water based on other reviews. I also put fresh ground black pepper, garlic powder, and fresh chopped rosemary on both sides of the roast per other's reviews. I used the whole packet of dry soup mix, I like lots of flavor, and cooked it on low for about 6 hours. I did seem done at about 5, but my husband wasn't home yet and I figured it would just get softer as time went on. At the 5 hour mark I tasted it and it seemed BLAND. I couldn't believe it. It tasted like it needed some depth. I dug out a jar of beef demi glace, added a few spoonfuls, grabbed my jar of dehydrated slivered garlic and threw some in and dumped in a jar of sliced mushrooms. It really needed a lot of doctoring up in my opinion. The demi glace (from Williams Sonoma) really is what made it MUCH better. It did fall apart nicely, I used top sirloin roast, but even though it seems obvious based on the ingredients, you end up with 2 cups of liquid in the pot. If you want gravy you're going to have to thicken it. I personally want my crock pot recipes to require as little effort as possible so putting the liquid in a pan and thickening it seemed like too much at that point. Maybe you should put the liquid in first with a little thickener and THEN add the meat. Anyway, I served it over egg noodles and it was good but I clearly had to deviate from the original recipe, thus the three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I sprinkled my roast with garlic powder, pepper and rosemary. I used up the remainder of a bottle of red we had opened which ended up being about 1 1/2 cups. Also, used beef broth instead of water. After cooking, I poured the cooking liquid through a colander into a pan on the stove to strain out the solids and thickened with some water/cornstarch. The gravy was fantastic. I think I would have rated this 5 stars but I used a top round roast and it wasn't the best cut. I think I'll try again sometime with a better cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Use a rump roast if you want to slice, not shred, this roast. My husband and I love this beef. Thanks, Katie, for submitting a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janejarrold
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Hi there, I used this recipe as a base really, it sounded really good then I read the reviews so I tried to take on board all what had been said. First of all I cooked diced beef not a large bit, I coated the beef in plain flour with mixed herbs first then put it in to the slow cooker. I used 2 small onions and 5 sliced mushrooms. I could not get packet onion soup so I had to use a tin of French onion soup (I will however try with the packet mix next time) I used half a bottle of red wine and half a pint of vegetable stock. I left it on low for five hours and right at the end put it on the cooker top and added 2 tbs corn flour to thicken up the sauce. I served with roasted veg and mash potatoe, candle light and soft music.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: North Hykeham, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe was very tasty. My husband loved it, but the meat turned out rather dry. It was very tender and fell apart with a fork, and it had good flavor. The next time I make it, though, I will take some of the others' suggestions so hopefully it won't be as dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
4 stars for the recipe as-is, FIVE++ stars for the recipe with user suggestions and a quality wine. As suggested, I used a full packet of onion soup, added rosemary, garlic powder and black pepper, and I wanted to do 2 cups of wine, but I only had 1 cup of Founders Reserve Port. Instead of 1 cup of water then, I added 2 beef bullion cubes to the mix with the water. The end result was DELICIOUS. I cooked the meat all day (well over 5 hours), and added yukon gold potatoes for the last 2 hours, and everyone loved it. Best roast I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States