Red Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was baked in two mini-Bundt pans. Since several reviewers noted the density or dryness of the cake, I increased the wine (Fairbanks Port, which I thought was too dry to be labeled Port) to 3/4 cup. With that and no chocolate chips [instead Ghirardelli sweet cocoa & chocolate and one Hershey's mini (chipped)], the cake tasted like a mild Spice cake. It was dry, just BLAND! NOT a hit at my office party. What was a hit was the chocolate frosting I made. So, now I have an unfrosted cake and 11 out of 16 slices of a frosted one. Total calories on the frosted cake for 16 slices was 232. Do I chuck it, experiment with the best way to eat the frosted or make a punch bowl cake for my church gathering on Saturday evening? This is REALLY disappointing, that something that people wouldn't even offer a review of, could cost so much to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This cake has nice flavor, but has a very dry dense texture. I followed the recipe to the tee, except that I used two 8 inch pans. I was very disappointed as I have been looking for a wonderful moist cake that I could use leftover red wine. Perhaps it needs for liquid or oil? I didn't expect this kind of texture considering how much butter is in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I made this recipe for years, ist moist and flavorfull, light and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I thought this cake was good but too dried and dense. I made a chocolate red wine ganache to put on top and it helped moisten the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Photo by KPAN
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
The cake was dry on the outside, and moist on the inside so I added a chocolate glaze. I also could not taste the wine though. Not to sweet, just perfect. I followed the recommendations from previous comments, creaming the butter and sugar first, then adding the egg. I then added the vanilla and red wine. I mixed together in a separate bowl the flour, baking powder and cocoa powder then blended the dry and liquid mix together with an electric mixer. Instead of a pan, i baked it into a silicon bundt pan for about 1h10 minutes. I also put chocolate red wine glaze which is a recipe from the port wine cake here in allrecipes.com. You can see the result above in the pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I had some leftover red wine and a chocolate craving, so I halved the recipe and put it in a 9x9 pan (baked at 360 for 20 minutes) to make a thin cake. Taking the advice from other reviewers, I beat the eggs and the butter and then added the eggs individually. It was moist and fluffy and the taste was great for a late night snack. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Potential! The flavor complexity of the red wine & chocolate was great, I would make sure to use a full-bodied wine with chocolate or berry notes. Mine too came out thick and dry, but I'm 100% sure I've figured out why: I tried to cream the butter sugar & eggs together at the same time and all the liquid made the butter clump so I over beat it and the eggs filled out. I bet if I creamed the butter and sugar THEN gradually added the eggs I could get that thick gooey brownie-like consistency in the picture. I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I followed the directions and amounts to the tee. The results were a delicious, moist chocolate cake. I did not ice it. I felt like it was fine the way it was. Very easy to make, although I agree with a previous reviewer on the order of the ingredients. This cake is not exceptionally sweet but it is sweet. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I was pretty disappointed with this cake. It's quite dense and, despite all of the butter and eggs (and not over-baking), mine was rather dry-ish and crumbly. I think I'm going to cube it up and make a trifle out of it - moisten it with some espresso or Kahlua and layer it with some pudding and whipped cream. I won't be making this cake again and next time I'll just toss the wine I was trying to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I thought it would need icing, but it was nice and moist. I used my home made Christmas wine and the cake had a little more kick. The chocolate chips make the cake. Next time I want to try white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States