Red Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is delicious-- almost has the consistency of a chocolate chip muffin, so I don't think frosting is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
The cake was very dense and needed the frosting that I added. It was good but not sure I would make it again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Potential! The flavor complexity of the red wine & chocolate was great, I would make sure to use a full-bodied wine with chocolate or berry notes. Mine too came out thick and dry, but I'm 100% sure I've figured out why: I tried to cream the butter sugar & eggs together at the same time and all the liquid made the butter clump so I over beat it and the eggs filled out. I bet if I creamed the butter and sugar THEN gradually added the eggs I could get that thick gooey brownie-like consistency in the picture. I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
I wrote down the ingredients, so all i need to do now is buy a bowl, a spoon, oh, and the actual ingredients themselves, and of course find someone to cook it for me, but it looks like it would taste great. Hvala. -Gabbanski
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I thought this cake was good but too dried and dense. I made a chocolate red wine ganache to put on top and it helped moisten the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I had some leftover red wine and a chocolate craving, so I halved the recipe and put it in a 9x9 pan (baked at 360 for 20 minutes) to make a thin cake. Taking the advice from other reviewers, I beat the eggs and the butter and then added the eggs individually. It was moist and fluffy and the taste was great for a late night snack. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I followed the directions and amounts to the tee. The results were a delicious, moist chocolate cake. I did not ice it. I felt like it was fine the way it was. Very easy to make, although I agree with a previous reviewer on the order of the ingredients. This cake is not exceptionally sweet but it is sweet. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I had some leftover red wine, so I decided to make this cake. I used 1/2 sugar, 1/2 splenda, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. After tasting the finished product, I think this recipe needs salt. I also think the directions need to be re-ordered so the red wine is added after the vanilla and then the flour and finally, the chocolate chips; especially when using an electric mixer. I also used a 9x13 pan and cut 15 pieces, as the calories for 8 pieces was way too high. The chocolate chips make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I thought it would need icing, but it was nice and moist. I used my home made Christmas wine and the cake had a little more kick. The chocolate chips make the cake. Next time I want to try white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
My group loved this cake. It's got a very rich taste and I think is sweet enought without any icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Pittman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Travelers Rest, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States