Red Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was baked in two mini-Bundt pans. Since several reviewers noted the density or dryness of the cake, I increased the wine (Fairbanks Port, which I thought was too dry to be labeled Port) to 3/4 cup. With that and no chocolate chips [instead Ghirardelli sweet cocoa & chocolate and one Hershey's mini (chipped)], the cake tasted like a mild Spice cake. It was dry, just BLAND! NOT a hit at my office party. What was a hit was the chocolate frosting I made. So, now I have an unfrosted cake and 11 out of 16 slices of a frosted one. Total calories on the frosted cake for 16 slices was 232. Do I chuck it, experiment with the best way to eat the frosted or make a punch bowl cake for my church gathering on Saturday evening? This is REALLY disappointing, that something that people wouldn't even offer a review of, could cost so much to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This cake has nice flavor, but has a very dry dense texture. I followed the recipe to the tee, except that I used two 8 inch pans. I was very disappointed as I have been looking for a wonderful moist cake that I could use leftover red wine. Perhaps it needs for liquid or oil? I didn't expect this kind of texture considering how much butter is in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I made this recipe for years, ist moist and flavorfull, light and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I thought this cake was good but too dried and dense. I made a chocolate red wine ganache to put on top and it helped moisten the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Photo by KPAN
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
The cake was dry on the outside, and moist on the inside so I added a chocolate glaze. I also could not taste the wine though. Not to sweet, just perfect. I followed the recommendations from previous comments, creaming the butter and sugar first, then adding the egg. I then added the vanilla and red wine. I mixed together in a separate bowl the flour, baking powder and cocoa powder then blended the dry and liquid mix together with an electric mixer. Instead of a pan, i baked it into a silicon bundt pan for about 1h10 minutes. I also put chocolate red wine glaze which is a recipe from the port wine cake here in allrecipes.com. You can see the result above in the pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I had some leftover red wine and a chocolate craving, so I halved the recipe and put it in a 9x9 pan (baked at 360 for 20 minutes) to make a thin cake. Taking the advice from other reviewers, I beat the eggs and the butter and then added the eggs individually. It was moist and fluffy and the taste was great for a late night snack. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Potential! The flavor complexity of the red wine & chocolate was great, I would make sure to use a full-bodied wine with chocolate or berry notes. Mine too came out thick and dry, but I'm 100% sure I've figured out why: I tried to cream the butter sugar & eggs together at the same time and all the liquid made the butter clump so I over beat it and the eggs filled out. I bet if I creamed the butter and sugar THEN gradually added the eggs I could get that thick gooey brownie-like consistency in the picture. I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I followed the directions and amounts to the tee. The results were a delicious, moist chocolate cake. I did not ice it. I felt like it was fine the way it was. Very easy to make, although I agree with a previous reviewer on the order of the ingredients. This cake is not exceptionally sweet but it is sweet. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I was pretty disappointed with this cake. It's quite dense and, despite all of the butter and eggs (and not over-baking), mine was rather dry-ish and crumbly. I think I'm going to cube it up and make a trifle out of it - moisten it with some espresso or Kahlua and layer it with some pudding and whipped cream. I won't be making this cake again and next time I'll just toss the wine I was trying to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I thought it would need icing, but it was nice and moist. I used my home made Christmas wine and the cake had a little more kick. The chocolate chips make the cake. Next time I want to try white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States