Red Wine Braised Short Ribs with Smashed Fall Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
i tweaked this recipe with another recipe that i found. instead of preparing the fall veggies later, i brown the meat & remove. then saute the chopped red onions 1st, then add 2 cups 1/2" chop carrots & 2 cups 1/2" chop parsnips & saute for 5 minutes, then i add the chopped garlic - saute another minute and add 1 bottle of red wine & 1 can beef broth. i also cooked it for 2 1/2 hours in a 325 oven - perfect. i take the ribs out, strain the veggies, refrigerate the stock - skim all the fat - thicken with a bit of butter & flour and pour over the ribs. reheat a bit & serve with smashed potatoes. yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! The meat is so tender and flavorful that it melts in your mouth! We actually just used carrots and potatoes cut into chunks instead of mashing the vegetables and using the fall vegetables as they don't appeal as much to the kids. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. I replaced the wine with beef broth and the flavour was excellent. The little ones loved the fall veggies. They are 1 and 2 so the soft texture was perfect for them. I am getting ready to make it again for the best critic in the family, Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe was great. Very delicious. The cooking time was to short, I cooked for 3 to 31/2 hours. It was SO tender,just melted in your mouth! I also served with creamy polenta instead. It absorbed the juices very well. It was a real hit with my family. I order this dish at a favorite restaurant in Napa, and it's $30.00 a plate. This is just as good if not better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I prepared this in two stages over the course of two days. It was worth the wait. I cooked the short ribs yesterday because I know how much fat they render and I wanted the ease of skimming it off once it had chilled. An hour to an hour and a half of cooking time didn’t seem long enough to me so I let it go for three hours. The aroma while they simmered signaled the deliciousness that was to come the following night, but I wanted them NOW. The assortment of vegetables in this recipe really interested me and it was fun to make this “mash” including them all, especially since I don’t often use turnips or parsnips, and I do believe this was the first time in my life I bought a sweet potato. (I had them one time when I was a kid – don’t remember where - but I remember they were topped with toasted marshmallows and I thought they were perfectly nasty – and I never had them again until now!) The color was beautiful – a brilliant orange; and the flavor was as interesting as the assortment of vegetables hinted it would be. The meat was tender and moist, with a robust, beefy flavor, and a richly flavored sauce to accompany it. Hubs and I really enjoyed this and since this is rather time-consuming I wish I would have thought ahead and made enough for another meal. Note: I did add butter, salt and pepper to the vegetable mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by kraftykidd
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
2nd time making this dish. Definitely a keeper. I used 1/2 of a bottle of wine in the dish last year and 3/4 of bottle of wine this year. I seared the ribs and added all of the ingredients to my crock pot. I slowed cooked them for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is an excellent recipe and one my husband asks me to make very often. The only things I do different are that I omit the red wine and sub beef stock for it. This is good for anyone who finds it too acidic, and you are not missing any flavor by doing this. I also dice the onion, carrot and celery rather than large chunks. Lastly, if I happen to have some available, I use bacon fat to saute those veg in first. Just gives it another layer of complexity and richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Awesome! But it took 3 hours for the beef to be perfect. We especially liked the fall veggies. Nice comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very good recipe, cooked ribs in slow cooker , would cut onions smaller next time,but all in all ,would definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is one of the best short rib recipes. The house smelled wonderful while this was cooking, and it is a good way to get all the root vegetables, I did not use the sweet potatoes because I did not have them but an exceptional recipe thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States