Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was GONE at the end of the day. It's very, light. I used the golden butter recipe. Also used the COOL WHIPPED FROSTING on same website. All you do is add a small package of instant vanilla pudding, 1 cup of milk, and 1 tsp vanilla to the 8 oz cool whip. You combine the pudding mix with milk and vanilla, and mix until smooth. Gently fold in cool whip until no streaks. This topping is also good for a fruit dip. It's a little more firm than just plain cool whip. I was concerned about letting the cake sit out all day with a cool whip topping, but that wasn't a problem. Everyone was able to see how festive it was -- then chowed down on it later. I will fix this every July 4th -- now a tradition in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I make a similar cake every year for the 4th of July. Instead of a plain yellow cake, I use a white one and make it a jello cake, then frost with the cool whip and decorate with berries. Turns an ok cake into a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
A nice cake and very pretty to look at! I used chocolate cake instead of yellow just because I think that chocolate cake with Cool Whip is one of the best flavors in the world! Don't try to skimp on the whipped cream like I did. Use the whole container, believe me its well worth it. And make sure the cake is COMPLETELY cooled before you frost it, otherwise you'll end up with a runny, sloppy mess. Although a very good tasting mess. A very yummy and easy (plus fast) cake to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I have used a similar recipe for years. I use a white cake mix. Poke holes in cake with a wooden skewer and pour 1 package prepared instant red jello, such as rasberry, cherry or strawberry over cake. Prepare only with 1 cup of hot water cooled. Frost with real whipped cream or Cool Whip. Deocorate with Blueberries for the stars and ether strawberries or red rasberries for the stripes. I bake it for the 4th of July and always get raves. Very Moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
It's good but too much cake and not enough strawberries. The next time I made it I sliced the cake in half longways to make a layer. I poured strawberry glaze and put a layer of sliced strawberries and blueberries. Placed the top layer of cake and finished with whipped cream, blueberries and strawberries to make look like a flag. My family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
This is a fun and festive dessert that is easy to make. I ended up only needing about half of the fruit called for. Because my strawberries were so big, I needed to slice the strawberries thinner (in half and then in thirds) to be able to make 6 red stripes. If you have to slice the strawberries more than just in half, it helps to slice off some of the inside flesh. This helps the strawberries to lie flat so that only the outer red skin shows hiding the paler fleshy part. Nothing terribly unique about the taste, but still yummy enough and very patriotic. Kids loved it and can help in the decorating process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is one of my favorite recipes during this time of the year. The only thing that I do differently is to use an already made pound cake (we like Sara Lee). We decorate it the same way...just smaller (since there are only 3 of us.) Thanks for a reminder and a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I'm Canadian, so I did this a little differently. I made my yellow cake mix, as directed. Instead of decorating the entire cake though, I broke it up, and in a large bowl arranged it Trifle style. I used real whipped cream and left out the blueberrys. So, instead it was really like a strawberry and whipped cream trifle. Very tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Excellent, easy to make. This was our third time. Quite a conversation piece also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I give this 4 stars for appearance. It is good, too, but I have a twist on it that I think is a little tastier and still fits the red, white & blue theme. I make an angel food cake and tear it into bite-sized pieces; cut clean the blueberries and clean and slice the strawberries into another bowl. Be generous with the berries! In a third bowl make creme of whipped topping, instant vanilla pudding and skim milk (cut back on the milk a little to compensate for the whipped topping). Using a large glass bowl to assemble the dessert, layer angelfood cake, pudding mixture, then berries. Repeat. Hint: prepare all the ingredients for assembly waiting until last to make the pudding mixture. You want to put the dessert together as soon as you mix the creme so it sets up in the dessert not in the bowl you've mixed it in. Sorry the recipe isn't more specific, but you really can't go wrong. This is a favorite of all my friends and family... it just tastes like summer. Years ago I was preparing a dessert for a July 4th party. I was aiming for a finished product like the one in the picture. With an ambitious three-year-old helping it didn't look that good, at all, but it got rave reviews for taste. My three-year old even said, "Mom, that sure is ugly pudding but it's really yummy." The name "ugly pudding" stuck but we found the layered presentation was a big improvement in aesthetics. To this day my husband and kids ask for ugly pudding more than any other treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States