Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I just made this for 4th of July and divided the batter into 2 8" square cake pans. So instead of making a flag for the decoration I made a star. Outlined it with blueberries and filled with sliced strawberries. It was fantastic! Really did taste like shortcake - maybe because when the cake is refrigerated it takes on more of a shortcake texture. Anyway, it was delish! And my whole family enjoyed. Even the little ones from ages 4-9. Thanks for a great, simple and easy recipe! Mema328
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Festive and easy! I used red velvet cake mix which went well with Cool Whip topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is a nice easy recipe for someone like me who can't bake!!! I used the pudding mix as well in the frosting. No one could believe I made it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was fantastic. I used the Lemon Cake by LaDonna as the base. It worked great! Everyone loved it and were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was OK...I would probably have liked it better if I had not added the vanilla and pudding to the Cool Whip as other reviewers suggested. That added a real artificial taste to it. Next time I will stick with the recipe...I have made this before as written and the Cool Whip alone is just OK on top, which is why I opted for the moderations this time. Either way it's just a 3 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It would have been good, but not fantastic with just the cool-whip topping, but I would give 5-stars with the suggestion from Bette to add pudding, milk, and vanilla to the topping. It was just the extra touch needed to make it special for the holiday! Oh, and we're a family of raspberry lovers so I used raspberries instead of sliced strawberries. The key is to wash them well ahead of time and keep turning them in the collander to make sure the water drains out so they're ready to put on your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Floyd
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I loved making this because it was easy to decorate. Instead of using cool whip for the frosting I used butter cream because I am not fond of cool whip for a frosting on cakes. It's a very festive idea for when your feeling patriotic or for a special occasion like today which is the 4th of July. I made this for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Floyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I made this cake a long time ago. I put strawberries into the cake as well as decorate it on top. It was a HUGE hit and gone by the end of the day. Pretty and festive, with fresh fruit, you can't go wrong and its's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I used a Butter Recipe cake mix. I also beat 3 ozs cream cheese with a couple of tablespoons of sugar and added it to the whipped topping to give it a little more body. Thanks for the decorating idea, made a nice July 4th presentation! I'm sharing my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have made this cake for over 15 years. I use white cake instead and add some color, flavor and texture by using a berry gelatin mix mixed with one cup hot water. I poke holes in cooled cake and pour gelatin mix over and refridgerate over night before adding cool-whip and decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States