Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Excellent, easy to make. This was our third time. Quite a conversation piece also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is one of my favorite recipes during this time of the year. The only thing that I do differently is to use an already made pound cake (we like Sara Lee). We decorate it the same way...just smaller (since there are only 3 of us.) Thanks for a reminder and a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
My family and I love to make this every year...For Four years now, my 4 year old helps put the berries on......Its become a tradition.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I've made this recipe before only I used Saralee pound cake, which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I make a similar cake every year for the 4th of July. Instead of a plain yellow cake, I use a white one and make it a jello cake, then frost with the cool whip and decorate with berries. Turns an ok cake into a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Not anything extraordinary, but it was fun. I took it to a 4th of July BBQ and people loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
This is a fun and festive dessert that is easy to make. I ended up only needing about half of the fruit called for. Because my strawberries were so big, I needed to slice the strawberries thinner (in half and then in thirds) to be able to make 6 red stripes. If you have to slice the strawberries more than just in half, it helps to slice off some of the inside flesh. This helps the strawberries to lie flat so that only the outer red skin shows hiding the paler fleshy part. Nothing terribly unique about the taste, but still yummy enough and very patriotic. Kids loved it and can help in the decorating process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This is a great quick & cute treat. But it wasn't one of my favorite desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Super easy and fun to make. Everyone was thoroughly impressed with this beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States