Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nicole B.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I absolutely LOVE the idea of this festive cake recipe! The only thing I did different is I used the cool whipped frosting recipe on here and I used golden vanilla cake mix! Oh so YUMMY! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This cake looks good and we did a homemade cake version for Fourth of July, but why call this a "shortcake" when it's just a yellow cake mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
My family and I love to make this every year...For Four years now, my 4 year old helps put the berries on......Its become a tradition.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was GONE at the end of the day. It's very, light. I used the golden butter recipe. Also used the COOL WHIPPED FROSTING on same website. All you do is add a small package of instant vanilla pudding, 1 cup of milk, and 1 tsp vanilla to the 8 oz cool whip. You combine the pudding mix with milk and vanilla, and mix until smooth. Gently fold in cool whip until no streaks. This topping is also good for a fruit dip. It's a little more firm than just plain cool whip. I was concerned about letting the cake sit out all day with a cool whip topping, but that wasn't a problem. Everyone was able to see how festive it was -- then chowed down on it later. I will fix this every July 4th -- now a tradition in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Excellent, easy to make. This was our third time. Quite a conversation piece also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. We also use it for Valentine's day for the grandkids. Just slice strawberries to make it look like hearts, dip in a little lemon juice to stay fresh. Lay on paper towel to catch extra juice & lay them on top the cool whip. They love it. You can also let them help decorate. Even my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This cake is great. My girls and I make it several times a year. The military people in the family just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I tried this recipe for a 4th of July dinner and it was a total hit!! It was very easy to make and everyone loved it! I will definately make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I made this for a family reunion with a patriotic theme and everyone really liked it! This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This has always been the talk of the cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States