Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
First time making this cake and it was a hit! Everyone loved it. I did take others advise and used the frosting with the pudding in the mix and im glad i did. I also used a vanilla cake box mix and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Made this for the 4th of july everyone loved it!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was my first cake ever. I decided this year to be daring and do something new for the Fourth. Because I am a newbee to baking I messed up the first layer because of impatience and excitment. My hubby said:"Baby, let it cool in the oven and calm down." :-) Second layer fell right out. The only thing I did different was I thought an orange cake would compliment the blueberries and strawberries and it did! I did use the cool whip and pudding recipe that I found on this site. Next time I'm going to use the white chocolate pudding. Nothing like chocolate and fruit! I love this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I make a cake like this on all holiday pot-lucks. The only change is, I make my own yellow cake. I also bake it in a 13x9 pan. The whipped topping is a perfect icing. It holds up very well to room temperature. It also isn't too sweet like traditional icing. 13x9 pans, now sometimes come with covers. It makes it nice and easy to store before of after a party too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Really pretty cake! I used a German Choc box cake, and the COOL WHIPPED FROSTING from this site. I took other's advice and made a layer cake, using the cool whipped frosting (doubled the recipe) and put strawberries and blueberries in the middle layer. I used French Vanilla pudding with the frosting - DUH, forgot that pudding was yellow, so we had a yellow, red, and blue cake. :D Yummy and fun, nothing fancy. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
So quick and easy!! Looked and tasted great!!!!!!!!!! Enjoyed by all , Thankyou !!!!!!!!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Perfect for the holiday. Everyone loved it. I made it with a funfetti angle food cake and it worked perfectly. Nice and light for a hot summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Was a big hit at our picnic. I made this as a poke cake with strawberry jello and frosted with a recipe I had that is sour cream, powdered sugar and cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
WOW! This was a definite hit w/the kids. Followed recipe as written with one exception. As another had done, I poked holes in cake after it came out of oven and poured 1 can (14 oz) of fat free sweetened condensed milk over the top. AWESOME DESSERT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I was looking to make a quick dessert and I happened to have all these things on hand! All my guests thought the flag was adorable, and devoured it, but I personally thought it was missing just a little something, although I cannot think of what that something is. It tasted good, in the future I will make my own cake batter. I don't like box cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Red, White, and Blue Flag Toast

A fun, easy, and patriotic breakfast.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States