Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Really pretty cake! I used a German Choc box cake, and the COOL WHIPPED FROSTING from this site. I took other's advice and made a layer cake, using the cool whipped frosting (doubled the recipe) and put strawberries and blueberries in the middle layer. I used French Vanilla pudding with the frosting - DUH, forgot that pudding was yellow, so we had a yellow, red, and blue cake. :D Yummy and fun, nothing fancy. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
So quick and easy!! Looked and tasted great!!!!!!!!!! Enjoyed by all , Thankyou !!!!!!!!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Perfect for the holiday. Everyone loved it. I made it with a funfetti angle food cake and it worked perfectly. Nice and light for a hot summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Was a big hit at our picnic. I made this as a poke cake with strawberry jello and frosted with a recipe I had that is sour cream, powdered sugar and cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
WOW! This was a definite hit w/the kids. Followed recipe as written with one exception. As another had done, I poked holes in cake after it came out of oven and poured 1 can (14 oz) of fat free sweetened condensed milk over the top. AWESOME DESSERT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I was looking to make a quick dessert and I happened to have all these things on hand! All my guests thought the flag was adorable, and devoured it, but I personally thought it was missing just a little something, although I cannot think of what that something is. It tasted good, in the future I will make my own cake batter. I don't like box cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Awesome cake! I used yellow cake mix. I used 3/4 cup milk, and 1/4 cup water (instead of 1 cup water) and added a cup of jello vanilla pudding. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
If you want to make this phenomenal, cut the cake horizontally, and add strawberry pie filling... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
We had a friend visiting from London and she just loved this cake - she decorated it herself and it turned out beautiful. She plans to post pics on her blog www.writearoundtheworld.me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Great twist on an old favorite. I made exactly as directed. It was super easy and quite tasty. If you wanted you could make the cake from scratch for an even more home-made flavor. But as-is, it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaylemichel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Booze Ice Pops

Celebrate Independence Day the boozy way with berry-flavored ice pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States