Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this last 4th of July for our family get together, and it was great! I only made one change: I put a layer of fresh sliced strawberries on the cake before frosting it with the whipped cream. I will definitely be making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laylasmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
My family loved this! I had extra strawberries and blueberries I served as well. Easy and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This cake was delicious. I followed some of the other reviews and poked holes in the cake and added strawberry gelatin mixed with 1 cup of hot water. I refrigerated cake overnight and frosted with cool whip the next day plus added strawberries. Not a fan of blueberries so I used blue decorative icing to draw stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA
Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This one is soooo easy and always a big hit on the 4th of July, Memorial Day and Veterans Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Tastes great! I'd love to see a new 4th of July cake design though this one is kind of put away wet at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
THIS RECIPE MAKES UP VERY QUICKLY. I USED A WHITE CAKE MIX AND ADDED A BOX OF VANILLA INSTANT PUDDING. T MADE A WHIPPED CREAM, CREAMCHEESE FROSTING AND IT HELD UP FOR THE 4TH AND THE PART I FROZE WAS STILL PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used white cake mix and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Darling festive cake! Got lots of oohs and awwws. Use the vanilla pudding in the cool whip. Makes a great topping. I also used white cake mix cooked and cooled then poked holes every couple of inches and poured strawberry jello small pack made with 1 cup of boiling water mixed then added 1/2 cup of ice cold water mixed then poured over cake so it was marbled. Cooled for an hour in fridge. Then frosted and decorated. It was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttonwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
My family and guests loved it! It was easy to make and did not take a lot of time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I just made this for 4th of July and divided the batter into 2 8" square cake pans. So instead of making a flag for the decoration I made a star. Outlined it with blueberries and filled with sliced strawberries. It was fantastic! Really did taste like shortcake - maybe because when the cake is refrigerated it takes on more of a shortcake texture. Anyway, it was delish! And my whole family enjoyed. Even the little ones from ages 4-9. Thanks for a great, simple and easy recipe! Mema328
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States