Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this last evening ...for 4th of July brunch. I used 2 pound cake mixes & took the advice of CHICK and poked holes in cooled cake and filled with concentrated strawberry jello. The jello added a lot more berry flavor. Yummmm...everyone dug right in and ate every morsel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I basically used the recipe but I added additional strawberries with sugar (so it made a syrup) and put it on the cake before I frosted with the whipped topping. Then added the flag blueberries & strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This recipe is very plain and simple. My recipe uses two boxes yellow cake mix baked in jelly roll pan. Whipping cream with powdered sugar and chopped strawberries goes between layers, frost with whipped cream, then use 50 blueberries in upper corner, sliced bananas dipped in lemon juice for one row; alternate rows using strawberry halves to make the stars and stripes. It is huge and feeds a group on July 4th and tastes like a gourmet strawberry shortcake ala Independence Day. Change to two boxes yellow cake mix, 2 pints heavy whipping cream, use wax paper on jelly roll pan, grease paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this last 4th of July for our family get together, and it was great! I only made one change: I put a layer of fresh sliced strawberries on the cake before frosting it with the whipped cream. I will definitely be making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laylasmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
My family loved this! I had extra strawberries and blueberries I served as well. Easy and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This cake was delicious. I followed some of the other reviews and poked holes in the cake and added strawberry gelatin mixed with 1 cup of hot water. I refrigerated cake overnight and frosted with cool whip the next day plus added strawberries. Not a fan of blueberries so I used blue decorative icing to draw stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA
Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This one is soooo easy and always a big hit on the 4th of July, Memorial Day and Veterans Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Tastes great! I'd love to see a new 4th of July cake design though this one is kind of put away wet at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
THIS RECIPE MAKES UP VERY QUICKLY. I USED A WHITE CAKE MIX AND ADDED A BOX OF VANILLA INSTANT PUDDING. T MADE A WHIPPED CREAM, CREAMCHEESE FROSTING AND IT HELD UP FOR THE 4TH AND THE PART I FROZE WAS STILL PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used white cake mix and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States