Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The only change I made was using funfetti cake instead of yellow cake. Everyone loved it and it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Everyone loved this cake. Definitely the wow factor for any 4th of July party. I am not a fan of blue berries so I used black berries instead and still had the same look. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My kids (now 11 & 9) love making this cake. This is our 5th year making it. We use angel food cake to make it very light and airy. It's so easy, the only thing I do at this point is take it out of the oven. He does blueberries, she does strawberries, low and behold they're working together and it's a day without fights!! They love the compliments they get when we bring it to the party also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natedawg
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I make this recipe every year... love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natedawg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I have used a similar recipe for years. I use a white cake mix. Poke holes in cake with a wooden skewer and pour 1 package prepared instant red jello, such as rasberry, cherry or strawberry over cake. Prepare only with 1 cup of hot water cooled. Frost with real whipped cream or Cool Whip. Deocorate with Blueberries for the stars and ether strawberries or red rasberries for the stripes. I bake it for the 4th of July and always get raves. Very Moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Rather than make this cake from a boxed mix, we did it from scratch. My youngest granddaughters, ages 4 and 6, and I had so much fun making it. We used frozen blueberries and fresh strawberries. The girls didn't seem to mind the time it took me to cut the strawberries because they were busy chopping pecans that would go into and on top of the cake before it went into the oven. To make this an extra special occasion, pictures were taken of the girls gathered around their 92-yr old great grandma who held and displayed our pride and joy (the cake). Did we like the cake? You be the judge - pictures of the finished cake were done by 3:00 pm. The girls' Mom arrived at 7:00 and ate the last piece before returning home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. We also use it for Valentine's day for the grandkids. Just slice strawberries to make it look like hearts, dip in a little lemon juice to stay fresh. Lay on paper towel to catch extra juice & lay them on top the cool whip. They love it. You can also let them help decorate. Even my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This cake was GONE at the end of the day. It's very, light. I used the golden butter recipe. Also used the COOL WHIPPED FROSTING on same website. All you do is add a small package of instant vanilla pudding, 1 cup of milk, and 1 tsp vanilla to the 8 oz cool whip. You combine the pudding mix with milk and vanilla, and mix until smooth. Gently fold in cool whip until no streaks. This topping is also good for a fruit dip. It's a little more firm than just plain cool whip. I was concerned about letting the cake sit out all day with a cool whip topping, but that wasn't a problem. Everyone was able to see how festive it was -- then chowed down on it later. I will fix this every July 4th -- now a tradition in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This cake is great. My girls and I make it several times a year. The military people in the family just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was a very festive cake. I used it for a 4th of July potluck at work. Everyone agreed it was very nice looking. I used a white cake and made it a jello cake with raspberry jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States