Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This cake tasted great and was fun to make with the kids. Very patriotic! Next time, however, I will use a large cool whip because it was a thin layer when we were done and that left it a little dry! I think I will also split the cake in half and place a layer of strawberries and whipped cream between the layers, then top with the extra cool whip and American flag decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I just made this tonight for the 4th's celebration. The children are really looking forward to eating it, and I'm looking forward to them getting some fruit in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
My family loves it!!! Its always requested at family gatherings!!!! *yummy yum yum*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodgers_chik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
i think that the family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I make this exact cake only I cut the cake down the middle and put a mixture of strawberries and blueberries with a bit of sugar, then place the other cake half and make the flag design...it's a winner I haven't met someone yet that doesn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This cake is delish and so festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
well the only thing i changed was using angel food cake instead of a yellow cake and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seritafife

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omak, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
So simple with very cute results and tastes good also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
LOVED this!! I did as another poster said and used the COOL WHIP FROSTING, instead of just plain cool whip and it was EXCELLENT and oh, so easy! I didn't make an American flag because my family wanted the blueberries and strawberries mixed on the top. I loaded it down with strawberries and had a ton of the two pints it called for left over. (we did slice thinly) I'm so thankful for you sharing this recipe. So much tastier with fresh baked cake then those stiff yellow pre-made cakes you can buy for strawberry shortcake in your grocer! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4pinksand1blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Easy, looked great and your guests will always be impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States