Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is not a red velvet cake! i fallowed the instructions exactly and noticed how thick the batter was. it was almost like cookie dough. so i added 1/2 a cup of water and that fixed the moisture problem a bit. but it was still very plain and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This cupcake is decadent!! I did use buttermilk instead of milk, which gives it a richer taste. The cake is moist and bursting with flavor. I did not use the icing recipe. I make a buttercream icing and add cream cheese which is SUPER yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watsonsfullhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made this exactly as per the directions and I ended up with 36 cupcakes... oh well the more the merrier ;) Anyways they were amazing! Moist and flavourful! A huge hit with my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
These were good. I made the recipe exactly except used soymilk instead of regular milk, and light sour cream instead of regular. They were just a little too dry. I had to keep drinking water while I was eating them or I would get choked up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I consider myself to be a great baker, and thought I'd give these a try. They were good, moist, but not overly flavourful. I'll admit, I'm generally not a huge fan of red velvet, but I did find these kind of non-descript, neither chocolatey or vanilla-y, just sort of bland. My family, whom I always test out recipes on, felt the same. I think if you have a "thing" for red velvet, these might do it for you, but they didn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefani k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
These are so easy and delicious! Great texture, not too sweet, and were the perfect addition to our birthday party! The guests loved them! I'd never made red velvet cake before, and these made me look like a pro! Really enjoyed these and the buttercream frosting was great too. Will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made these last night and they were so amazing! I'm definitely going to use this recipe more in the future:) and I recommend others using it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This recipe turned out fabulous! I brought some for my coworkers yesterday and they are still talking about them. I did not even have to alter anything for our high altitude for the cake. On the frosting I did end up needing to add a little milk because it was slightly thick at first. I'm not a huge cream cheese frosting fan so I think next time I do the frosting I may add a little vanilla coffee creamer just to make it a little smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My daughter made this even though I don't like Red Velvet cake - it's always seemed like just a cake with red color. Turned out to be so good, it was just what I needed after 3 hours of tennis. Perfectly yummy. The cake is not sweet and even the icing is not too sweet - and it has a slight tang to it. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States