Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Perfect just the way the recipe says it should be. Always a hit in parties, whenever I'd bake a batch and serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
The Red Velvet was very good but we had some problems with the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halsey, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Delicious! Perfect and moist, they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
The cupcakes were a bit dry but the icing was great. It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have gotten several requests to make these again at work. I made regular sized cupcakes at first but it wasn't enough, so last night I did the mini cupcakes and it made about 76 of them. The cook time was surprisingly the same. Fantastic recipe!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
The recipe for the batter was fantastic! I will definitely use it again. Based on what I had in my fridge, I used almond milk instead of regular milk and plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and they still turned out great. Still, I did not care for the recipe for the icing. While it tasted delicious, it was way too runny and only made about half the amount needed for the number of cupcakes recipe for the batter yielded. I'll definitely try a different icing recipe in the future and will likely double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I halved the recipe as I wanted to try out a small batch just to make sure it is really good. I am really happy with how the cupcakes turned out however the icing was a bit too sweet for me so I cut down on the sugar. My advice is not to dump all the sugar in but to mix in half and then taste it after it is well combined. You can then add on more sugar if its not sweet enough for you. Overall I am really happy with this recipe. It was moist, fluffy and chocolatey !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I jave gotten so many compliments on these, people say they have never had red veldt as good as this. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I love it and make here for every event I go to. They are always a huge hit. *Tip: Very helpful to scoop out batter with an ice-cream scoop and into baking pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Like many others, the first time I made this recipe, it didn't turn out good - too heavy and not enough flavour. I made this again with some changes - 1/4 c. less flour, 1/4 c. more sugar, 2 TB more cocoa powder, use buttermilk instead of regular milk, add in egg yolks first before adding whipped egg whites - and it came out MUCH better! I'm planning on making these now for my son's Christmas party at school :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was a great recipe! The cupcake was very moist,soft, and very delicious. I didn't have the sour cream so I substituted it for vanilla greek yogurt that I already had on hand. It worked and the cupcakes turned out fine. Using plain (or vanilla,) greek yogurt would be a fabulos subsitute for sour cream. The frosting was really yummy, I did put a bit more cream cheese through. Best red velvet cupcake recipe ever! (This recipe makes A LOT of batter) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States