Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Kim Rippere
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
These are delicious and so cute. I used the modifications from cookinmama...scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Rippere

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
These are so light and easy to make. This will definitely be my go-to recipe for red velvet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It was a sweet success! Had no experience in baking but was able to make it and its just divine!gave some to friends as valentine gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Just made this recipe today and I loved it! First time ever making red velvet cupcakes. They could've been a little more dense like normal red velvet cupcakes are but I was still impressed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missymac20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I was really disappointed by these cupcakes, after reading some of these lovely reviews I was excited to try making these, but I am unhappy with the result. They have a strange bitter sour cream after taste and the frosting is very runny. These were probably the worst red velvet cupcakes that I have ever tasted and I don't plan on trying these cupcakes again. They are edible, not bad enough to throw out, but I would definitely not want to give these to people other than my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made these just as the recipe said & they turned out delicious. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Birdsong Palmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Used modification by "ReadingPenguin" on 1/12/13. This recipe is a keeper. I believe I am a good judge of authentic southern red velvet cake and this recipe is FOR REAL. This recipe makes more than 2 dozen almost full cupcakes. I had enough left over for a small cake in a loaf baking dish. I only had 2 muffin pans, otherwise likely could have made 30+ cupcakes. Batter seemed thinner than I am accustomed too, but I trusted the process. The icing made a generous quantity to cover a thick coating on the 2 dozen cupcakes PLUS entirely coat all sides of the small loaf pan cake. My 16 yr old son requested Red Velvet cupcakes for his birthday party. It was a joint bday party for 27 other friends at a local venue. So I brought this recipe and another parent brought some store bought cupcakes. I felt bad for my friend because the red velvet cupcakes disappeared within minutes with many of the kids made a point to seek me out and tell me how good the cupcakes were. Anyone who is around 16 yr olds much knows this is rare to receive unsolicited feedback! I didn't even get to eat a cupcake. I did taste the small loaf cake once I got back home and it was moist, delicious, and now added to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These were pretty good. I have had better but these were the best I have baked. Instead of using the frosting listed I used Italian meringue buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Made a smaller batch of these and they came out great! I might try some of the suggested modifications just to see how much better they can be, but this is a great, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This recipe with a few modifications is great. The cupcakes were moist and fluffy… Not too sweet (which I prefer). For starters, I used a combination of buttermilk and sour cream; secondly I folded in the usual soda and vinegar mix commonly called for in RVC… ("Colored" with beets or food coloring.) Generally, I add a little extra cacao (dark and unsweetened) which renders a richer tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States