Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
These were good. I made the recipe exactly except used soymilk instead of regular milk, and light sour cream instead of regular. They were just a little too dry. I had to keep drinking water while I was eating them or I would get choked up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I consider myself to be a great baker, and thought I'd give these a try. They were good, moist, but not overly flavourful. I'll admit, I'm generally not a huge fan of red velvet, but I did find these kind of non-descript, neither chocolatey or vanilla-y, just sort of bland. My family, whom I always test out recipes on, felt the same. I think if you have a "thing" for red velvet, these might do it for you, but they didn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefani k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
These are so easy and delicious! Great texture, not too sweet, and were the perfect addition to our birthday party! The guests loved them! I'd never made red velvet cake before, and these made me look like a pro! Really enjoyed these and the buttercream frosting was great too. Will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made these last night and they were so amazing! I'm definitely going to use this recipe more in the future:) and I recommend others using it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This recipe turned out fabulous! I brought some for my coworkers yesterday and they are still talking about them. I did not even have to alter anything for our high altitude for the cake. On the frosting I did end up needing to add a little milk because it was slightly thick at first. I'm not a huge cream cheese frosting fan so I think next time I do the frosting I may add a little vanilla coffee creamer just to make it a little smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My daughter made this even though I don't like Red Velvet cake - it's always seemed like just a cake with red color. Turned out to be so good, it was just what I needed after 3 hours of tennis. Perfectly yummy. The cake is not sweet and even the icing is not too sweet - and it has a slight tang to it. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I was never a fan of red velvet. Made these for a friend and only after trying them did I understand the red velvet obsession. I LOVE this recipe. I used a different frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I scaled this down to 12 cupcakes for Father's Day and left out the food coloring. Even though I used the soy milk and nonfat vanilla yogurt I had on hand instead of milk and sour cream, the cupcakes were fluffy and moist. The frosting had the perfect consistency and taste and will be my go-to recipe now. The cake and frosting paired together were AMAZING. It was our first time eating red velvet cupcakes and we devoured these, esp my dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
i made this for my husband birthday and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States