Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Clarisa R
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
These are freaking amazing! I've tried a couple of other Red Velvet recipes and while I enjoyed the flavor, they had a tendency of not fluffing very well and didn't know how to fix it.... I tried this experimental recipe for Mother's Day / my BFF's late B-Day celebration... Followed the recipe exactly as is, and just a few thoughts I might add an extra 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and maybe an extra 1/4 of the cocoa powder to make the flavor slightly stronger... I need to say however, I was the only person that thought they needed these, since I am a completely control freak and not 100% happy until things are PERFECT from my perspective, but everybody else in my family loved them.... Also, I did not get 30 cupcakes I actually got more, probably 15 or 16 more than that, and that was filling them up to aprox 3/4, I think they should really be filled in to about half so they can look like cupcakes and not muffins (got plenty of those!!) haha Another note is I did not use the cream cheese frosting from this recipe cause I had some frozen left over from another one I just added an extra cream cheese block and some powdered sugar to increase the amount and frost these little guys....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I tried this recipe today for the first time. It is good, but my cakes turned out rather dry. Possibly a measuring error on my part, but I will try the other reviewers suggestions next time to try and moisten the cake more. The icing is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made these for my husbands birthday and they were loved by everyone!! I didn't have enough red food coloring, but got close enough. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
i loved this recipe. it was so easy and very moist and silky. I followed the exact recipe, no alterations and that was a key part to these cupcakes. this recipe made 37 for me. its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious! These are probably the best cupcakes I've ever made. They tasted so rich but so moist and I think that the sour cream is what makes it so moist. They were super easy to make and I got a lot of compliments! The frosting goes so well with it too! Overall a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
These were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by topchef014
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Delicious. These cupcakes were absolutely fantastic. They were rich and moist, and I couldn't have found a better icing recipe to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I did cut the flour by about a 1/4 cup and used top shelf cocoa (I also only use organic and good quality dairy, but I'm not sure if that matters). I can't believe people gave this recipe anything less than 5 stars :/. The batter itself was so good, we couldn't stop eating it; and finished, they weren't too shabby either! Look no further for a go-to red velvet recipe. The buck stops here! I will be making this over and over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Although I changed the receipt for mini cup cakes 15 , I had too much frosting and batter left even when I made 24 mini's. However, the taste was excellent . I would make again but fudge some of ingredient amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
These are wonderful!! Didn't change anything except added less food coloring (used .25 oz) as that was all I had on hand. Turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States