Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
After using up all the red food coloring in the house, the cupcakes still weren't red and after cooking them, they were more like mud velvet cupcakes than red velvet. Will never try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was an enjoyable cupcake that received many compliments. The cake itself was not terribly sweet, but the frosting was VERY sweet (I didn't even add all the sugar and people were still commenting on the sweetness). Overall, they balanced each other out. I found the cake to have a nice texture- moist enough without being greasy at all; and dense (in a good way) rather than heavy. Bonus: they were gorgeous little things and the batter was so amazing I could've made myself sick on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
By far the best cupcakes I have ever made and tasted. I was super hesitant about the sour cream in the recipe but it truly made them perfect. They required some time and attention, but were relatively easy to make and were worth all the time. The vanilla cream cheese frosting recipe is amazing. I will never use another recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Krause

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This recipe is great! However, I did accidentally add more vanilla and sugar than the recipe asked, but I think I'll keep it that way, because they turned out wonderful. The frosting was the best I've had as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Berkman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Giving this a 5 because they taste freaking awesome!! However, they are very chocolate tasting. I may have done something wrong but my icing was runny. But they were super tasty. Going to serve them tomorrow for a birthday surprise. I hope they are a hit. I will make them again but I won't serve them again as red velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I live in Europe and used a very dark cocoa powder....no matter how much red food coloring I used, these cupcakes were still too dark. My cake dough was very red however, so how red should the dough be so that I can adjust this recipe to what is available in Germany. Great taste, I also took the tip from other comments and used butter milk. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
First time I've made velvet anything! Also cream cheese icing is the only way to go with these cupcakes. DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PilotsRoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Red velvet is my go-to baked good because it's one of the few things everyone in my family enjoys. I tried this recipe just to mix it up a bit. I followed the recipe exactly and the cupcakes came out dry and pretty much flavorless. I tried to bake them for less time than suggested, but it seems they go from gooey and under baked to dry and crumbly in just a few seconds. These are definitely not like the moist, flavorful red velvet cupcakes I usually make. I now have 24 cupcakes sitting on the kitchen counter that no one will eat...needless to say I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory Mickanin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike808
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this as a cake, with the changes recommended by several other reviews (reducing flour to 2 and 1/4 cups, increasing sugar to 2 and 1/4 cups, and substituted evaporated milk with 1/2 tbsp vinegar for the milk). I thought the cake was very dense and heavy, but those I made it for said they really liked it. For finishing touches, I made a layer of sliced fresh strawberries and frosting. Then after frosting the outside, I decorated with some sliced/fanned-out strawberries and a dusting of cocoa powder. If I made this again, I would likely use cake flour for a lighter cake and add a bit more cocoa powder for more of a chocolaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike808
Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Too much coco powder. Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States