Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made these for my son's bday bc he loves red velvet n they were a hit! They were moist and delicious! Definitely making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good cupcakes! I made mini cupcakes and baked them for 12 minutes. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I also used buttermilk in place of milk (3/4 cup) and just 1/2 ounce red dye. The color was perfect. The only thing that seemed off in this recipe was the amount of confectioner's sugar. I used WAY less, and it was still too much. To cut the insane sugariness, I added some lime zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Everyone loved these! They are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCostello

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
After using up all the red food coloring in the house, the cupcakes still weren't red and after cooking them, they were more like mud velvet cupcakes than red velvet. Will never try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was an enjoyable cupcake that received many compliments. The cake itself was not terribly sweet, but the frosting was VERY sweet (I didn't even add all the sugar and people were still commenting on the sweetness). Overall, they balanced each other out. I found the cake to have a nice texture- moist enough without being greasy at all; and dense (in a good way) rather than heavy. Bonus: they were gorgeous little things and the batter was so amazing I could've made myself sick on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
By far the best cupcakes I have ever made and tasted. I was super hesitant about the sour cream in the recipe but it truly made them perfect. They required some time and attention, but were relatively easy to make and were worth all the time. The vanilla cream cheese frosting recipe is amazing. I will never use another recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Krause

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This recipe is great! However, I did accidentally add more vanilla and sugar than the recipe asked, but I think I'll keep it that way, because they turned out wonderful. The frosting was the best I've had as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Berkman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Giving this a 5 because they taste freaking awesome!! However, they are very chocolate tasting. I may have done something wrong but my icing was runny. But they were super tasty. Going to serve them tomorrow for a birthday surprise. I hope they are a hit. I will make them again but I won't serve them again as red velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I live in Europe and used a very dark cocoa powder....no matter how much red food coloring I used, these cupcakes were still too dark. My cake dough was very red however, so how red should the dough be so that I can adjust this recipe to what is available in Germany. Great taste, I also took the tip from other comments and used butter milk. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States