Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I was really disappointed by these cupcakes, after reading some of these lovely reviews I was excited to try making these, but I am unhappy with the result. They have a strange bitter sour cream after taste and the frosting is very runny. These were probably the worst red velvet cupcakes that I have ever tasted and I don't plan on trying these cupcakes again. They are edible, not bad enough to throw out, but I would definitely not want to give these to people other than my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made these just as the recipe said & they turned out delicious. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Used modification by "ReadingPenguin" on 1/12/13. This recipe is a keeper. I believe I am a good judge of authentic southern red velvet cake and this recipe is FOR REAL. This recipe makes more than 2 dozen almost full cupcakes. I had enough left over for a small cake in a loaf baking dish. I only had 2 muffin pans, otherwise likely could have made 30+ cupcakes. Batter seemed thinner than I am accustomed too, but I trusted the process. The icing made a generous quantity to cover a thick coating on the 2 dozen cupcakes PLUS entirely coat all sides of the small loaf pan cake. My 16 yr old son requested Red Velvet cupcakes for his birthday party. It was a joint bday party for 27 other friends at a local venue. So I brought this recipe and another parent brought some store bought cupcakes. I felt bad for my friend because the red velvet cupcakes disappeared within minutes with many of the kids made a point to seek me out and tell me how good the cupcakes were. Anyone who is around 16 yr olds much knows this is rare to receive unsolicited feedback! I didn't even get to eat a cupcake. I did taste the small loaf cake once I got back home and it was moist, delicious, and now added to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These were pretty good. I have had better but these were the best I have baked. Instead of using the frosting listed I used Italian meringue buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Made a smaller batch of these and they came out great! I might try some of the suggested modifications just to see how much better they can be, but this is a great, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This recipe with a few modifications is great. The cupcakes were moist and fluffy… Not too sweet (which I prefer). For starters, I used a combination of buttermilk and sour cream; secondly I folded in the usual soda and vinegar mix commonly called for in RVC… ("Colored" with beets or food coloring.) Generally, I add a little extra cacao (dark and unsweetened) which renders a richer tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I'm generally not a fan of red velvet cake but these may convert me! The batter was fantastic. After letting them cool and sit at room temperature the cakes seemed a bit dry. I don't know if it was the baking time or leaving them out too cool for too long. I topped them with cream cheese, cherry, coconut and pecan frosting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Previously gave this four stars, but based upon review from family and friends, it's 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
great cupcakes. for the frosting used others suggestions and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States