Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
First time I've made velvet anything! Also cream cheese icing is the only way to go with these cupcakes. DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PilotsRoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Red velvet is my go-to baked good because it's one of the few things everyone in my family enjoys. I tried this recipe just to mix it up a bit. I followed the recipe exactly and the cupcakes came out dry and pretty much flavorless. I tried to bake them for less time than suggested, but it seems they go from gooey and under baked to dry and crumbly in just a few seconds. These are definitely not like the moist, flavorful red velvet cupcakes I usually make. I now have 24 cupcakes sitting on the kitchen counter that no one will eat...needless to say I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory Mickanin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike808
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this as a cake, with the changes recommended by several other reviews (reducing flour to 2 and 1/4 cups, increasing sugar to 2 and 1/4 cups, and substituted evaporated milk with 1/2 tbsp vinegar for the milk). I thought the cake was very dense and heavy, but those I made it for said they really liked it. For finishing touches, I made a layer of sliced fresh strawberries and frosting. Then after frosting the outside, I decorated with some sliced/fanned-out strawberries and a dusting of cocoa powder. If I made this again, I would likely use cake flour for a lighter cake and add a bit more cocoa powder for more of a chocolaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike808
Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Too much coco powder. Not impressed. I wish I had time to make another recipe. I will not use this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
These are truly amazing cupcakes, they are the best cup cakes I have ever tasted!! I have had red velvet cake before in a shop and were not impressed - this feels like velvet on your tongue !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terina Jonker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I make these at work all the time - but usually as an 8" layer cake. Today one of the cooks said he tried it and if he could marry it, he would. It comes out wonderful every time. I don't make any changes to the recipe - EXCEPT I use Red Velvet Emulsion instead of red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
They were dry with a heavy chemical flavor due to the large amount of due used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynessa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I made these cupcakes for my son's wedding. They were awesome. They are very moist and they stay moist. We had some left over from the wedding and I used them to make a raspberry trifle which was great as well. I have made this recipe a number of times. Sometimes as is and sometimes with buttermilk. Very easy and always turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
It think, it's the best fresh sweet dezert... :D and the colour... woow... :D I just love thid dezert... :D :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
IT was so dry and the batter looked so bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States