Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I followed every step perfectly for two batches, and had issues both times with not only the cake, but the icing as well. The cake is terribly bland and doesn't have that distinct red velvet flavour, nor, most importantly, the signature red colouring. These cupcakes turned out a dark brown with a mild chocolate-ish flavour. Unfortunately the icing was no better. It was no where near sweet enough, but after adding more confectioners sugar the taste was delicious! The only down side is the texture, because of the sour cream, the icing is very, very runny! I DO recommend the icing as long as you cut out the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
i added the buttermilk, more sugar, vanilla flavor, and decreased flour as suggested, decreased the cocoa powder and everyone raved about it. I am not a chocolate cake fan and so it still tasted too chocolate to me maybe I will decrease the cocoa even more next time and increase the vanilla more. definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cristal Rose
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I didn't like it at all. The cupcake came out dry and tasteless. However, the frosting was quite tasteful. Maybe it's just my taste but I like cupcakes to be very moist, almost like a brownie. It looked pretty though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristal Rose

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millburn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Great recipe! Cupcakes came out very moist and fluffy. I suggest blending with mixer until VERY smooth to get the 'velvety' smooth effect for texture. Cooked mine for 17 minutes in the oven and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly how its written. The cupcakes were dry and had absolutely no taste. Very bland. I was very disappointed and will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made these for my son's bday bc he loves red velvet n they were a hit! They were moist and delicious! Definitely making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very good cupcakes! I made mini cupcakes and baked them for 12 minutes. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I also used buttermilk in place of milk (3/4 cup) and just 1/2 ounce red dye. The color was perfect. The only thing that seemed off in this recipe was the amount of confectioner's sugar. I used WAY less, and it was still too much. To cut the insane sugariness, I added some lime zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Everyone loved these! They are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCostello

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
After using up all the red food coloring in the house, the cupcakes still weren't red and after cooking them, they were more like mud velvet cupcakes than red velvet. Will never try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States