Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I just made these red velvet cupcakes last night and they were really good!! I followed the modifications of other reviewers. I only did 2 1/4 cups of flour, 2 1/2 cups of sugar (and I test tasted it), I used 3/4 cup of buttermilk instead of regular milk, 4 teaspoons of vanilla, and I only used 1/2 bottle of a 1oz red food coloring bottle because it tends to overpower the taste of the cake. I didn't add the dry ingredients w/ the wet ones until my cupcake pans were lined & the stove was pre-heated. And I cooked at 325 degrees! Also, when I added the eggs I took one reviewers advice and added the yolks 1 at a time and separated the egg whites. I whipped the egg whites in a bowl until they were frothy kinda and after I mixed the dry & wet I added the egg whites last. I really didn't need an electric mixer. I beat it w/ a paddle spoon because my goal was not to over beat too. But I put these in there for about 30 min (low heat) and kept checking w/ a fork every 5-7 min after they had been in there for like 18 minutes. Don't wait until the fork is super clean, take them out even when there are a few specks of cake on fork. I used this buttercream recipe- 4 cups powdered sugar, 4-5 tbsp of coffee cream, 1 cup of salted butter, & 3 tsp of vanilla. These were heavenly man, my sisters kept saying his name in vain! I found the icing on Pinterest. Man.....it is crazy good...best in my life and I know icing man! It's the next morning and the cupcakes are still super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
These cupcakes were yummy! Not a total five star recipe, but a pretty decent one at best. Everyone at my work liked them. Nothing outstanding though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made this recipe about 3 hours ago-- it is wonderful. The cake is very flavorful and moist, but I'm not sure about the frosting. I put in 2/3 of a bag of powdered sugar and because I don't like cream cheese frosting (the cupcakes are for a friend), I had my mom try it and she said it was awesome. The recipe yielded 28 cupcakes. Very delicious, will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was my first red velvet recipe, and I think it's the one I'll stick with! Based on some of the reviews, I did make a few adjustments. I used 2 1/4 cups of flour, 2 1/4 cups sugar, and doubled the vanilla in the batter. I also used buttermilk instead of milk. They came out moist, rich, and delicious. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
good but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My boyfriends absolutely loved these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
AMAZING! Everyone loved the cupcakes! They were possibly the best I've ever had. The cream cheese frosting wasnt as thick as I like it though but overall fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe taste soooo good! I added buttermilk instead of regular milk ,and they came out super moist. Not to mention the cream cheese frosting was really creamy and delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Used all purpose cream with vinegar instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States