Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by smile4meh
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
i made them for valentine's day for the first time and they were delicious! My boyfriend loved loved the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I'm not usually a fan of red velvet cupcakes, but these were fantastic! Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
These were really good, i did not put enough food coloring in. (i thought i was putting too much in by squeezing almost half a tube of gel coloring and they came out dark red. next time i will add more coloring. they tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is far and away the best red velvet cupcake recipe I've ever made. The sour cream made me wary at first but it helped exponentially. I used a simple butter cream rather than the cream cheese and it really let the flavor of the cake stand out. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
very easy and very good. Love the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I just made these red velvet cupcakes last night and they were really good!! I followed the modifications of other reviewers. I only did 2 1/4 cups of flour, 2 1/2 cups of sugar (and I test tasted it), I used 3/4 cup of buttermilk instead of regular milk, 4 teaspoons of vanilla, and I only used 1/2 bottle of a 1oz red food coloring bottle because it tends to overpower the taste of the cake. I didn't add the dry ingredients w/ the wet ones until my cupcake pans were lined & the stove was pre-heated. And I cooked at 325 degrees! Also, when I added the eggs I took one reviewers advice and added the yolks 1 at a time and separated the egg whites. I whipped the egg whites in a bowl until they were frothy kinda and after I mixed the dry & wet I added the egg whites last. I really didn't need an electric mixer. I beat it w/ a paddle spoon because my goal was not to over beat too. But I put these in there for about 30 min (low heat) and kept checking w/ a fork every 5-7 min after they had been in there for like 18 minutes. Don't wait until the fork is super clean, take them out even when there are a few specks of cake on fork. I used this buttercream recipe- 4 cups powdered sugar, 4-5 tbsp of coffee cream, 1 cup of salted butter, & 3 tsp of vanilla. These were heavenly man, my sisters kept saying his name in vain! I found the icing on Pinterest. Man.....it is crazy good...best in my life and I know icing man! It's the next morning and the cupcakes are still super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
These cupcakes were yummy! Not a total five star recipe, but a pretty decent one at best. Everyone at my work liked them. Nothing outstanding though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made this recipe about 3 hours ago-- it is wonderful. The cake is very flavorful and moist, but I'm not sure about the frosting. I put in 2/3 of a bag of powdered sugar and because I don't like cream cheese frosting (the cupcakes are for a friend), I had my mom try it and she said it was awesome. The recipe yielded 28 cupcakes. Very delicious, will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was my first red velvet recipe, and I think it's the one I'll stick with! Based on some of the reviews, I did make a few adjustments. I used 2 1/4 cups of flour, 2 1/4 cups sugar, and doubled the vanilla in the batter. I also used buttermilk instead of milk. They came out moist, rich, and delicious. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 828) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States