Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I make this one with one substitution- my personal gluten free mix for the flour. Noone can tell the difference. These are fantastic, moist, fluffy and short-lived....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
For a st Patrick's day treat instead of using red food coloring you could use green to make green velvet cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I bake A LOT but have never made red velvet cakes/cupcakes before and this recipe was a great one to try. The cupcakes were moist and not too sweet (since the icing was sweet enough). I didn't change a single thing and they turned out perfectly. JUST REMEMBER not to over mix, I think that's something a lot of people tend to do and your cupcakes won't turn out as fluffy or moist. THANKS FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
i made this recipe today and i made a cake instead of cupcakes and it was wonderful. i would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Loooove them! I make these all the time now :) They are like my signature Hehee! I piped out melted chocolate into hearts on wax paper, let them harden, than placed em on the cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Breckenridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is the first time I made a cake recipe from scratch and they came out delicious!! I asked the recipe for the directions for only 8 cupcakes and it came out perfect... Of course I am known for having the best tasting cakes around even if they usually come from a box! It's all in the mixing and not over doing it! Very tasty recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Bedford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
For icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have never made a red velvet cake before, so was a bit nervous about making this one. I've had a few disasters relating to cupcakes, but this recipe was a piece of cake (literally!). Lovely texture, and the richness of colour was beautiful. The icing, though - not so sure about. It was pretty and soft, but I prefer a cream cheese icing that has less icing sugar in it, purely because of that chalky grainy feel you can get with it. I added some lemon juice to cut through that - it just gives the flavour more fullness. Other than that, I would make this again in a heartbeat! Very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have never made a red-velvet cake and this one was so good! I put mine in a heart shaped cake pan for my bf for valentines day, a two layer cake. I made the frosting as well, so yummy. It was a a big cake so he took some to his buddies at work and they liked it too. a good red-velvet cake recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genowa Dunlap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Loved these cupcakes! Red velvet yumminess! I wish the icing would "stand-up" a little better, but aside from that it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States