Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This recipe turned out fabulous! I brought some for my coworkers yesterday and they are still talking about them. I did not even have to alter anything for our high altitude for the cake. On the frosting I did end up needing to add a little milk because it was slightly thick at first. I'm not a huge cream cheese frosting fan so I think next time I do the frosting I may add a little vanilla coffee creamer just to make it a little smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My daughter made this even though I don't like Red Velvet cake - it's always seemed like just a cake with red color. Turned out to be so good, it was just what I needed after 3 hours of tennis. Perfectly yummy. The cake is not sweet and even the icing is not too sweet - and it has a slight tang to it. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I was never a fan of red velvet. Made these for a friend and only after trying them did I understand the red velvet obsession. I LOVE this recipe. I used a different frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I scaled this down to 12 cupcakes for Father's Day and left out the food coloring. Even though I used the soy milk and nonfat vanilla yogurt I had on hand instead of milk and sour cream, the cupcakes were fluffy and moist. The frosting had the perfect consistency and taste and will be my go-to recipe now. The cake and frosting paired together were AMAZING. It was our first time eating red velvet cupcakes and we devoured these, esp my dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
i made this for my husband birthday and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Made these cupcakes once before and had beautiful pictures of them. I'd forgotten which recipe I used and had been trying a few, trying to recreate the moist dense cake type taste with the cream cheese that was an excellent pairing. Finally decided to try this one, thank goodness. Managed to get the same rich, moist cake and the redness was just right. I used red colouring paste and just about 1/2 teaspoon. Also doubled the amount of vanilla. My baking time was about 18 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius. Made half the amount of cream cheese which was just enough for a dollop for each cupcake. I added the icing sugar bit by bit to the cream cheese mixture and found that I was okay with the sweetness by the time only half the icing sugar amount was added. - This may be an option for those who don't like their cheese too sweet or for some reason, are trying to be a little healthier. This recipe also turns out well for mini cupcakes (about 1 inch diameter) without losing the moistness. These baked for about 14 minutes. Next time I will add some dessicated coconut to the frosting! Just a few flakes per cupcake should be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Too much cocoa powder, you can really taste it. Red Velvet is supposed to be dense and savory, and a smooth top much like corn bread, this was like the stuff you buy in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSUGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I turned this recipe into a cake (3 round cake pans). It's a very heavy consistency and I'm guessing too much sour cream and not enough sugar. Needs to be more moist too...it just wasn't good. Made a cream cheese frosting with southern comfort and we basically just ate the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
it was really sweet and red
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivy

Displaying results 121-130 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States