Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I rarely review any recipe, but this one I just had to! Made them last night for valentine's day party at my daughter's preschool. These came out awesome!!! Rich,moist,velvety-delicious. My husband who never gives his seal of approval the first time for anything new that I try couldn't stop after one ! He said these taste like they came out from a fancy bakery ..even for someone who never likes frosting he licked spoonfuls of frosting!!! Like other reviewers, I also reduced the flour to 2 and 1/4 and used regular milk with 2 tsp of lemon juice. Also, I reduced the cocoa to only 1/4 as i do not wanted it to be too chocolaty. For the frosting I did not use the entire box of confectioner sugar as we don't like it too sweet..i used only 2 cups and it was perfect ! My 4 year old could not stop raving about it!!! Hope every one at her school loves them as much as we did. Thank you so much for a great recipe. I've never baked cupcakes before so glad I came across this one I'll be making them again sometime soon for sure !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
These were a big hit with everyone! SUPER moist and the icing was amazing. I recommend using a high quality cocoa or more cocoa than the recipe calls for as I would've preferred a chocolatier taste to them. I also substituted the milk for buttermilk after reading other reviews. Also you don't have to skimp on the icing, it makes tons! I made 24 cupcakes and 16 minis and was able to pile the icing on. One more thing to add... I only had blue food colouring, so I used that thinking I'd get blue cupcakes, but they turned green! ;) In case anyone else has the same bright idea in a pinch. Perfect green colour for St. Patty's Day or Halloween, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
These cupcakes are amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly- very moist and delicious! The best red velvet cupcake I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Made this recipe and a Paula Deen recipe and this one was by far the best! Made changes that were suggested by others... 2 1/4 cups flour and sugar (decreased flour and increased sugar), used buttermilk instead of regular milk, increased to 2 1/2 tsp of vanilla, also I made the mini cupcakes and they only needed 17mins in oven to be completely done. I made the icing exactly as recipe suggested and put it into a plastic bag and cut off the corner to decorate. They looked great and tasted even better. Also liquid or gel color worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Just made these cupcakes and they were super dry. Used full fat sour cream and whole milk too. Very disappointing as I made a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smile4meh
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
i made them for valentine's day for the first time and they were delicious! My boyfriend loved loved the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I'm not usually a fan of red velvet cupcakes, but these were fantastic! Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
These were really good, i did not put enough food coloring in. (i thought i was putting too much in by squeezing almost half a tube of gel coloring and they came out dark red. next time i will add more coloring. they tasted great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is far and away the best red velvet cupcake recipe I've ever made. The sour cream made me wary at first but it helped exponentially. I used a simple butter cream rather than the cream cheese and it really let the flavor of the cake stand out. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
very easy and very good. Love the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States