Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My daughter made this even though I don't like Red Velvet cake - it's always seemed like just a cake with red color. Turned out to be so good, it was just what I needed after 3 hours of tennis. Perfectly yummy. The cake is not sweet and even the icing is not too sweet - and it has a slight tang to it. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I was never a fan of red velvet. Made these for a friend and only after trying them did I understand the red velvet obsession. I LOVE this recipe. I used a different frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I scaled this down to 12 cupcakes for Father's Day and left out the food coloring. Even though I used the soy milk and nonfat vanilla yogurt I had on hand instead of milk and sour cream, the cupcakes were fluffy and moist. The frosting had the perfect consistency and taste and will be my go-to recipe now. The cake and frosting paired together were AMAZING. It was our first time eating red velvet cupcakes and we devoured these, esp my dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
i made this for my husband birthday and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Made these cupcakes once before and had beautiful pictures of them. I'd forgotten which recipe I used and had been trying a few, trying to recreate the moist dense cake type taste with the cream cheese that was an excellent pairing. Finally decided to try this one, thank goodness. Managed to get the same rich, moist cake and the redness was just right. I used red colouring paste and just about 1/2 teaspoon. Also doubled the amount of vanilla. My baking time was about 18 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius. Made half the amount of cream cheese which was just enough for a dollop for each cupcake. I added the icing sugar bit by bit to the cream cheese mixture and found that I was okay with the sweetness by the time only half the icing sugar amount was added. - This may be an option for those who don't like their cheese too sweet or for some reason, are trying to be a little healthier. This recipe also turns out well for mini cupcakes (about 1 inch diameter) without losing the moistness. These baked for about 14 minutes. Next time I will add some dessicated coconut to the frosting! Just a few flakes per cupcake should be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Too much cocoa powder, you can really taste it. Red Velvet is supposed to be dense and savory, and a smooth top much like corn bread, this was like the stuff you buy in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSUGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I turned this recipe into a cake (3 round cake pans). It's a very heavy consistency and I'm guessing too much sour cream and not enough sugar. Needs to be more moist too...it just wasn't good. Made a cream cheese frosting with southern comfort and we basically just ate the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
it was really sweet and red
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivy
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Extremely delicious! Just an FYI, I know this is a cupcake recipe, but do not attempt to make this into a layer cake (I think it would make a sheet cake with no problem) because the icing is not stiff enough to hold up the layers, also the cake is a bit crumbly so you basically end up with a big mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States