Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Dry recipe - flavor ok. In researching, going to try a recipe with veg oil in lieu of butter. Additionally, traditional red velvet seems to have buttermilk and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
not bad but not great... i honestly didn't get a hint of the red velvet taste.the only reason that i feel this recipe deserves 3 stars is because the cream cheese frosting was great. i guess i have to continue searching for an actual red velvet recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Way too dry and the color is too weird! I used McCormick red as specified, I think there is too much cocoa - they came out muddy brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
So I made these cupcakes (and yes I followed the recipe exactly) and they were okay. I wouldn't call them red velvet cupcakes though as they taste nothing like real red velvet cake. It's basically a chocolate cake recipe with red food coloring, and that is not what the red velvet cake is all about. It totally lacks the tangyness from the vinegar used in real red velvet cake. I used this recipe thinking that maybe the sour cream would give that same tangyness but alas it did not. Now that's not to say that they weren't good. They're decent as far as a chocolate cake is concerned. They are very moist and have a lot of flavor to them. But again the name of this recipe is very deceiving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I made these for my boyfriend (red velvet fanatic) and we both loved them!!! I didn't make the icing (I wasn't brave enough..I've had some terrible experiences making icing..but I may try next time since I know the cupcake itself was amazing) As other reviewers have mentioned, the recipe does make a lot of batter, so next time I will cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I am new to baking and was suprised it called for sour cream. I am so happy i didn't doubt it and just went exactly by the directions. I made this for my birthday in July and even brought some to work. They were a HIT! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Im amazed with the outcome! I was just trying to experiment and without the sourcream it still tasted good and its probably the best red velvet cupcake recipe ever. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These were good! The cake itself was amazing, moist and delicious. The frosting was good but I struggled with the consistency, as it was drippy and gooey, rather than light and fluffy, which I was hoping for. That may just be the reality with cream cheese frosting but maybe others have tips for how to improve this going forward. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I loved this cake. The instructions are clear. The cake turns out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made this for Cake Friday at work. Everyone LOVED it! Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States