Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I bake A LOT but have never made red velvet cakes/cupcakes before and this recipe was a great one to try. The cupcakes were moist and not too sweet (since the icing was sweet enough). I didn't change a single thing and they turned out perfectly. JUST REMEMBER not to over mix, I think that's something a lot of people tend to do and your cupcakes won't turn out as fluffy or moist. THANKS FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
i made this recipe today and i made a cake instead of cupcakes and it was wonderful. i would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Loooove them! I make these all the time now :) They are like my signature Hehee! I piped out melted chocolate into hearts on wax paper, let them harden, than placed em on the cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Breckenridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is the first time I made a cake recipe from scratch and they came out delicious!! I asked the recipe for the directions for only 8 cupcakes and it came out perfect... Of course I am known for having the best tasting cakes around even if they usually come from a box! It's all in the mixing and not over doing it! Very tasty recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Bedford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
For icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have never made a red velvet cake before, so was a bit nervous about making this one. I've had a few disasters relating to cupcakes, but this recipe was a piece of cake (literally!). Lovely texture, and the richness of colour was beautiful. The icing, though - not so sure about. It was pretty and soft, but I prefer a cream cheese icing that has less icing sugar in it, purely because of that chalky grainy feel you can get with it. I added some lemon juice to cut through that - it just gives the flavour more fullness. Other than that, I would make this again in a heartbeat! Very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have never made a red-velvet cake and this one was so good! I put mine in a heart shaped cake pan for my bf for valentines day, a two layer cake. I made the frosting as well, so yummy. It was a a big cake so he took some to his buddies at work and they liked it too. a good red-velvet cake recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Loved these cupcakes! Red velvet yumminess! I wish the icing would "stand-up" a little better, but aside from that it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
When you alter the recipe to fit a more..normal cupcake amount (24) it becomes a little bit weird to do all those weird measurements. But all in all the batter comes out quite nice and semi-thick. A perfect cupcake batter. Mine are in the oven right now, I can't wait until they come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and I agree with the people who said that the frosting is what makes the cupcake. The frosting is excellent but the cake part is so so. It is bland and slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States