Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I halved the recipe as I wanted to try out a small batch just to make sure it is really good. I am really happy with how the cupcakes turned out however the icing was a bit too sweet for me so I cut down on the sugar. My advice is not to dump all the sugar in but to mix in half and then taste it after it is well combined. You can then add on more sugar if its not sweet enough for you. Overall I am really happy with this recipe. It was moist, fluffy and chocolatey !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I jave gotten so many compliments on these, people say they have never had red veldt as good as this. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I love it and make here for every event I go to. They are always a huge hit. *Tip: Very helpful to scoop out batter with an ice-cream scoop and into baking pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Like many others, the first time I made this recipe, it didn't turn out good - too heavy and not enough flavour. I made this again with some changes - 1/4 c. less flour, 1/4 c. more sugar, 2 TB more cocoa powder, use buttermilk instead of regular milk, add in egg yolks first before adding whipped egg whites - and it came out MUCH better! I'm planning on making these now for my son's Christmas party at school :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie C. Harding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was a great recipe! The cupcake was very moist,soft, and very delicious. I didn't have the sour cream so I substituted it for vanilla greek yogurt that I already had on hand. It worked and the cupcakes turned out fine. Using plain (or vanilla,) greek yogurt would be a fabulos subsitute for sour cream. The frosting was really yummy, I did put a bit more cream cheese through. Best red velvet cupcake recipe ever! (This recipe makes A LOT of batter) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I used this cream cheese frosting recipe on my Red velvet cake recipe and everyone raved about it :) I used mandarine juice to make the sour cream; and there was a hint of mandarine in the frosting; which everyone loved ;) Didn't stop making the recipe although I realized I was out of lemon juice or vinegar, so went ahead with mandarine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I'm not your expert baker, I've been baking for 3 years, and these cupcakes are delicious! They are even more delicious with a strawberry cream cheese icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Couldn't find the words to describe how much my whole family love this cake...lets just say the kids want it for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and anytime in between. Oh! Yummmmm...... - Anisah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
My fist time making cupcakes from scratch this is the best recipe. follow instructions and they will come out perfect and moist !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Dry recipe - flavor ok. In researching, going to try a recipe with veg oil in lieu of butter. Additionally, traditional red velvet seems to have buttermilk and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
not bad but not great... i honestly didn't get a hint of the red velvet taste.the only reason that i feel this recipe deserves 3 stars is because the cream cheese frosting was great. i guess i have to continue searching for an actual red velvet recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 864) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States