Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I love red velvet anything. I found numerous red velvet cupcake recipes before, but this one is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
My teenager has tried many different Red Velvet recipes trying to find a great homemade version. With much disappointment I'm afraid. I decided to look here first since I haven't been disappointed yet by a recipe in part due to all the great reviews people leave. We tried this one last night and loved it. Great taste, texture, moist, and terrific color. I just couldn't understand why other recipes were only using a few TSPS of Cocoa! We thought 1/2 cup was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starrynite
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is my first time baking Red Velvet cakes. I brought it to my neighborhood gathering. It is a little too sweet for my taste, both the cupcakes and the frosting. I actually used two packs of cream cheese for the frosting, and it was still plenty sweet to receive the compliments! I will probably need to tweet this recipe a little for my own taste, but over all a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrynite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I should have read through the reviews and did what The-Baby-Bow-Lady did.... The recipe is very dry. I made it for a co-worker's birthday and am so embarassed to even bring it in! I'm hoping everyone will over look it, 'cause I feel like I need to bring in something else to make up for a dry cupcake. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Loved this recipe... didn't change anything.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was first time making red velvet cake. Instead of cupcakes, I made a 9" two layer cake. Bake time was about 35 mins. And I used my own buttercream frosting because I'm not a big fan of cream cheese frosting. Was good, moist. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Excellent Recipe :~) I was looking for a red velvet cake recipe - this was the best reviewed, so I adapted for a cake. Based on other reviewer's suggestions, I tweaked the recipe a bit. My Suggestions: 2 1/4 C Cake Flour 2 1/4 C Sugar 2 1/2 Tsp Vanilla Add 3 MORE Tbsp Chocolate 1.5 oz red food color Sour the milk (1 Tb Vinegar in 1 C milk-let stand 10 min) Separate the eggs. Add yolks as directed. Beat egg whites until soft peaks form. Fold into batter at end. I baked in three 8 in cake pans and used the icing recipe from this recipe. Received rave reviews and the cake was devoured in less than 24 hrs. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and though I did like it and they were finished quickly, I think something is missing to make this a 5 star cupcake. I will try more chocolate or greek yogurt next time, but overall a good recipe that will please. I did not use the cream cheese frosting, as no one in my family likes this type of frosting, but did make a vanilla frosting (using granulated sugar, butter, vanilla, and a milk/flour mixture), and it complemented well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These are just okay. They look beautiful and I may use this recipe if I only needed "set dressing", but I don't think I will make this again becuase they were only okay...not bad, just no wow! I selected this recipe because I couldn't find buttermilk to make a real red velvet. My first clue should have been the amount of cocoa powder it requested...I normally only use about 2 Tbs, not 1/2 cup, they were also very dense like a poundcake but moist. Once again not a bad thing but not what I look for in a red velvet cupcake. So over all, it tasted average, was too dense and too much cocoa to be a good Red Velvet...but they were very pretty and stayed moist. This might be good for someone just learning how to bake since it was very easy to follow and you could take your time making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I have made these cupcakes twice now, and I have had really great reviews. A word of caution - the original recipe makes 30 cupcakes. I made 1/3 the recipe and got 12 cupcakes, albeit I ended up with some weird measurements. I was a bit hesitant as the batter initially doesn't mix smoothly, however it comes together well for great finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 828) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States