Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have found this to be one of my go-to recipes and get so many compliments on them. I top with the Cream Cheese Frosting II. Simply the best combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
LOVED it, and was loved by all that ate it! I omitted the cool whip and did not pipe into cupcakes based on reviews and then had to make 1/3 of another batch to frosting to cover all the cupcakes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this into a layer cake. The frosting was a lot, but I didn't use it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Literally after one bite, my college freshman son asked for a batch of these to take back to his dorm the same day. I left out the Cool Whip entirely and only used half as much sugar in the frosting. These were a huge hit at my Easter dinner. This recipe has become at instant family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great recipe! My family loved these. I am not a fan of cream cheese icing and I even loved the icing and the cupcakes came out very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wade.Lam
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made theses cupcakes for a friend's birthday, as per the recipe, and was very impressed. They were super moist and chocolatey. Rather than bother with the "from-scratch" icing, I used Cool Whip's new whipped cream cheese frosting (in the freezer section), which made them really phenomenal. For a professional look, I garnished them with clear crystallized sugar sprinkles, and they were almost too pretty to eat. I, myself, look for recipes that taste at least semi-homemade, as my busy life does not allow the time to make everything from scratch. These fit the bill! A DEFINITE KEEPER! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade.Lam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have never been a true fan of red velvet cakes but I decided to make these for a coworker's birthday. The addition of the chocolate pudding mix changed the flavor of the cake mix slightly and made the cupcakes so moist! I sometimes find cream cheese frostings very heavy but this one was so light and delicious!! After reading some of the reviews, I made sure to defrost the coolwhip in the fridge and only added 3/4 the amount of powdered sugar the icing called for and it was plenty sweet and not at all runny. This recipe (with a minor change in the icing sugar amount) may just have made me a believer in red velvet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Best cupcakes I have ever made. I brought them into work for the holidays, and everyone LOVED them. The frosting is perfect. I added tiny red and green sprinkles to the top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was an amazing recipe that I made for a dessert after a chicken dinner. The cupcakes came out, and after I put the icing on, I took a bite, and the top of the cupcake was perfect, and the center of the cupcake was moist and DELICIOUS. I used Duckin Hines cake mix, and everything turned out great!!! 5 STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States