Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Allison L'Esperance
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
These couldn't have came out better if I tried! I did end up using Betty Crockers' Red velvet cake mix (not that it matters) and I took them out after 9 minutes. Very adorable and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Followed the recipe as well as what some others recommended: added in a quarter cup of cocoa and a dash of vanilla. Didn't have any lemon zest so I used a half teaspoon of lemon extract. (I agree with the commenter who urged people not to skip the lemon, it doesn't make these lemon flavored just adds a depth of taste to the cookie.) Also, as has been written here, I didn't think the cornstarch was necessary to making the powdered sugar coating. After the first batch, I mixed in some milk chocolate chips and some Andes Peppermint Crunch baking chips. Oh boy, are they wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Magie Mitchell
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I have made these cookies several times and they are always devoured! I also add white chocolate chips and it makes for a more decadent cookie. Chilling the dough for at least an hour is important because right after you mix it, it's quite sticky. Also I found that baking it for 8 1/2 minutes makes them nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael Adams
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Delicious and pretty. I think the temp could really be 350 as the box suggests opposed to 375, to ensure they don't overcook on the bottom of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Needed to make 90 cookies for a Christmas Cookie exchange and decided to try these for a few reasons: pretty, tasty, and inexpensiveo make. I read the other reviews and decided to use the lemon zest anyway. Don't skip this part! It gives the cookie a plate-cleansing, bright flavor, but just a touch. You don't even need to use a full teaspon. Also, even though I doubled the recipe, I only got 45 cookies! I used a 1 inch melon baller. I suspect I bought the wrong box mix: so WARNING- make sure it is Duncan Hines CAKE and not Red Velvet CUPCAKE box mix. I guess the box mix would have had a bigger amount. BUT that all being said, the cookies turned out delicious and beautiful! Next time, I will use the rigt box mix! Oh. And these cookies ARE messy but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
These were fantastic! The only thing I changed was using lemon extract instead of the zest. I didn't measure it, just dribbled some into the bowl. Everyone loved them and they disappeared so quickly - I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
The cookies came out super moist and thats always huge plus. Although they were far from bad tasting, the flavor wasn't exceptional either. It's not a cookie you impress with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marijaf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Skip the lemon zest and added white chocolate chips - they turned out great with a crunchy edge and chewy middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sky
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great cookie recipe but I would recommend a couple of changes. Refrigerate the dough for a least 2 hours or overnight. There is no need to use any corn starch but roll a thick layer of powdered sugar on the dough balls. Lemon zest is optional depending on your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States