Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rachael Adams
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Delicious and pretty. I think the temp could really be 350 as the box suggests opposed to 375, to ensure they don't overcook on the bottom of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Needed to make 90 cookies for a Christmas Cookie exchange and decided to try these for a few reasons: pretty, tasty, and inexpensiveo make. I read the other reviews and decided to use the lemon zest anyway. Don't skip this part! It gives the cookie a plate-cleansing, bright flavor, but just a touch. You don't even need to use a full teaspon. Also, even though I doubled the recipe, I only got 45 cookies! I used a 1 inch melon baller. I suspect I bought the wrong box mix: so WARNING- make sure it is Duncan Hines CAKE and not Red Velvet CUPCAKE box mix. I guess the box mix would have had a bigger amount. BUT that all being said, the cookies turned out delicious and beautiful! Next time, I will use the rigt box mix! Oh. And these cookies ARE messy but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
These were fantastic! The only thing I changed was using lemon extract instead of the zest. I didn't measure it, just dribbled some into the bowl. Everyone loved them and they disappeared so quickly - I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
The cookies came out super moist and thats always huge plus. Although they were far from bad tasting, the flavor wasn't exceptional either. It's not a cookie you impress with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marijaf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Skip the lemon zest and added white chocolate chips - they turned out great with a crunchy edge and chewy middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sky
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great cookie recipe but I would recommend a couple of changes. Refrigerate the dough for a least 2 hours or overnight. There is no need to use any corn starch but roll a thick layer of powdered sugar on the dough balls. Lemon zest is optional depending on your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
These cookies present so beautifully! I made them for a party, and they were really soft and tasty. I thought the dough was painfully thick, so I added another tablespoon of melted butter, which worked out great - the cookies didn't spread too much or anything. There was a lot of left over powered sugar left over, so I'd halve that in the future. Also, the lemon zest does have a nice flavor, makes it distinctly different from a chocolate crinkle cookie. I used a tablespoon to scoop out the cookies, and it yielded 34.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These were pretty good, loved the lemon zest in them. Also added 1cup of white chocolate chips into batter. Using a small melon baller for cookies, recipe makes about 2 dozen. Had quite a bit of powdered sugar mixture left. Baked cookies for 11min. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
It turned out amazing! I rolled it in the powdered sugar and squished them and cooked for 11 mins. I took out the lemon zest (as I didnt have any lemons) and it was all good. A lot of extra powdered sugar though. Overall its amazing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These are perfect for Christmas! I confess that I changed the recipe a bit because I didn't have time for a dry run with it as written and I was looking for a plain rich chocolate flavor. My changes were simple - omitted lemon zest and wisked 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa into the dry ingredients and 1 tsp. vanilla extract in with the eggs. The result was the flavor I'd hoped for with a light cake texture. I'd prefer a slightly denser texture, but this can't be beat for for an easy, quick, from-a-mix recipe. Using a 1-inch melon ball scoop yielded a small cookie - perfect for cookie exchanges. Otherwise I would double the cookie size. The trick to the crackles is to roll the dough balls around until the confectioners sugar is thick and even all the way around. Be sure not to overbake or the cookies become too firm and dry. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States