Red Velvet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made these for a Valentine treat for my family and was a bit disappointed. Like other reviewers, the dough was sticky and tough to work with, and the taste was floury. I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Great recipe. But hard to shape cookie as dough is very sticky. Dough does not spread out while baking. So suggest flattening the cookie before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These were good, they're like little, tiny, individual, red velvet cakes. I used Lorann Red Velvet emulsion instead of the red food coloring and vanilla. If you're not using the filling, you'll probably want to add about 1/2 cup more sugar, they're not quite sweet enough on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I prefer "dawns easy red velvet sandwich cookies" instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney24
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These are so delicious and the perfect cookie to make around Christmas! The cream cheese frosting makes this cookie even more delicious than it already is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baking in il
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I make these every year. My cookies turn out moist and delicious each time. I am surprised that some people found them dry. Every time I bring these to work, I get several requests for the recipe. Red velvet is not supposed to have an overpowering chocolate note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have to agree with other reviewers that have said these were very dry and flour-y. The Red Velvet flavor was fairly strong but the texture was all off too, they were more fluffy more like Cakes than Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome cookie and frosting recipe...took to work for a holiday gathering and received great reviews!!!! Will be permanent cookie in my house!! It combined my love of red velvet cake and cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Awesome recipe. I have three cookie exchanges at the holiday season so I'm always looking for cookie ideas. My husband thinks this is "the cookie of the year". I did use salted butter and substituted semi-sweet choc chips instead of baking choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These were actually quite easy to make and they tasted just like red velvet cake :) I thought the cookie had a great consistency and was really moist. I didn't have any sour cream at my house, so I substituted with vanilla yogurt instead, and it works perfectly fine. The frosting is also great, very creamy and excellent tasting. I will definitely be making these cookies again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States