Red Velvet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These tasted like red flour. I made the "dawns easy red velvet sandwich cookies" those turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney24
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These are so delicious and the perfect cookie to make around Christmas! The cream cheese frosting makes this cookie even more delicious than it already is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baking in il
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I make these every year. My cookies turn out moist and delicious each time. I am surprised that some people found them dry. Every time I bring these to work, I get several requests for the recipe. Red velvet is not supposed to have an overpowering chocolate note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have to agree with other reviewers that have said these were very dry and flour-y. The Red Velvet flavor was fairly strong but the texture was all off too, they were more fluffy more like Cakes than Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome cookie and frosting recipe...took to work for a holiday gathering and received great reviews!!!! Will be permanent cookie in my house!! It combined my love of red velvet cake and cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Awesome recipe. I have three cookie exchanges at the holiday season so I'm always looking for cookie ideas. My husband thinks this is "the cookie of the year". I did use salted butter and substituted semi-sweet choc chips instead of baking choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I haven't made these yet but, I wonder if, instead of sour cream, you could use plain, non-fat, Greek yogurt? It's about the same consistency...it would boost the protein content and reduce the fat and calories, making them slightly healthier ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These were actually quite easy to make and they tasted just like red velvet cake :) I thought the cookie had a great consistency and was really moist. I didn't have any sour cream at my house, so I substituted with vanilla yogurt instead, and it works perfectly fine. The frosting is also great, very creamy and excellent tasting. I will definitely be making these cookies again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Awesome cookies! Everyone in my family and co-workers loved it.I didn't pack the brown sugar and the sweetness was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Super yummy! Went for over $2.00 per cookie at the school bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States