Red Velvet Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Red velvet cake review only. Increased oil to 1c & added 2T cocoa. 'Seems it'd be PINK velvet cake without the cocoa. Moist, but not too moist. This'll be around for a while - the recipe, I mean; not the cake. :) My directions: Combine 2 1/2c flour, 1t salt, 1t soda & 2T cocoa in medium bowl. In large bowl, whisk 2 eggs & 1c oil; add 1 1/2c sugar & 1t vanilla. Beat with mixer till smooth. Slowly stir in 1oz food coloring & 1t vinegar. Alternately add the flour mixture & 1c buttermilk. (No additional water) Along with twice baking, not enough fat/oil in this cake will ensure it to be dry. Again, my review is for cake only; but if I try the cheesecake top, I'll be sure to add 1c oil not the 1/2c given. 'Wonder if it's supposed to read 1 1/2c considering the twice baking. One more note, when making cupcakes, one recipe makes 18 regular (1/4c) cupcakes AND 24 mini (1T) so probably 24 all regular. Regular done in 22 minutes; minis, 15. Next time, I'm trying cooled, melted butter for the oil. The frosting makes it good, but the cake could be better --- with butter, I think. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
There was more red velvet cake than cheesecake, I think the cheesecake layer should have been thicker. The cheesecake layer was excellent, the red velvet layer wasn't very good - I would recommend using a red velvet cake mix instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Okay I was looking for a way to combine red velvet cake with cheesecake and this recipe is it!!! I was a little nervous about baking a cake "twice" as some of the others who left reviews were. If you are also nervous I would suggest placing a small pan/bowl of water in the bottom of your oven and everything will be fine! I've made this recipe twice and once it won a work contest! This recipe is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I wondered how you could bake a cake twice (once to bake and once while the cheesecake sets) without it being very dry. Answer? I can't. The cake was NOT moist but very dry and having cheesecake on top did not help. I think the recipe is flawed because I'm not a novice baker and I followed the recipe verbatim and it turned out poorly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I just made the cake part due to the uneasiness of the vague directions and knew doing this method would not be good but, I did however, made the red velvet cake (very good) but I would have changed the directions of putting wet ingredients first, then slowly add dry ingredients for better blending and not just whisk everything. But still came out well. Then I made Breakstone's New York Cheesecake-fully baked, layered it with white chocolate frosting-the combination was TO DIE FOR!! I still give this a four since the outcome was overall a smash hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
OK I did something wrong!! I followed the directions exactly but maybe I misunderstood. I made the red velvet cake part in the 2 pans and then poured half of the cheesecake mixure over each and then realized that the cake part would be baking again. Of course, it burned so after cooling I had to slice off almost the entire cake part from each. Did I somehow misunderstand these directions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I loved this recipe in that the taste was wonderful! Family and friends all raved about it. I gave it 4 stars because the instructions (at least for me) were vague. It wasn't clear that I was to pour the cheesecake batter on top of the finished cake halves. Also, I felt as though the bottom of the cake got way over-done and was tough. I will make this recipe again, but when I put it in the oven the 2nd time, I will raise the rack in the oven one space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Ok so I made this cake because, my boyfriend loved the one at the cheese cake factory and wanted it for his birthday I could not afford to buy it so I made it. He was in love and so was everyone at the party. I did change one thing however I doubled the red velvet cake recipe and used one 10 1/2'' pan and one 9 1/2'' pan it was perfect and it layered great. I also made my own cream cheese frosting and frosted the sides and then put white and dark chocolate shavings on the sides and top. The cakes obviously had to cook longer but I just watched them to see when done. With the changes everyone got a decent piece and it fed over 20 people. Like I said it was a hit my sister requested I make it for her bridal shower....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This turned out fabulous! Such vibrant color. It pretty much just flew off the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakemama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Neese
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made a version of this and put the photo here cause this is the closest recipie that I can find that is what I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Neese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexander City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States