Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Had this recipe for years and recently lost the cookbook in a flood. Everyone around here thinks Red Velvet Cake should be frosted with cream cheese frosting--shudder. So very glad I found the "right" frosting recipe again. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ekalaka, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Good solid recipe. Made it here in Brazil where the quality of ingredients can vary quite a bit and it still came out great. For what it's worth, I used a small container of Gel food coloring because it is difficult to locate 1 oz. bottles. Came out a nice bright red and good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I love Red velvet cake and I would love sometime to try the recipe thanks eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this cake and it tasted great, but I found out it would have been better had I used CAKE FLOUR instead of All-Purpose flour. Also, I used almost a whole bottle (the little plastic kind) of red food coloring and it was nowhere near "4 TBSP" and the cake was definitely "red." I don't know what further benefit would have come of using the full 4 TBSP. If anyone knows, I'd love to hear it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I think I might have messed up with this cake. It was dry. I followed all of the directions and some of the reviewers suggestions trying to do everything correctly, but failed to check my cake for doneness before the 30 minutes. I took the cake out at exactly 30 minutes (was so scared that if I checked and it wasn't done - my checking would result in a fallen cake as I read about somewhere else)! Anyway, my cake was dry. :-( The flavor was good and the icing was great (had to mix 15 minutes as others stated). I think I might try again, only next time I will 1) spoon my flour into measuring cup rather than scooping as not to get too much 2) will bake 20 - 25 minutes as I think 30 was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe several time with success...it is moist and flavorful. I have recently started using almond milk as a milk replacement with everything for good health and this has also worked well (using about an additional 1/4th cup). Remember, overall scratch cakes are heavier and more dense than a box cake. I think lots of people try scratch expecting a box cake result...will not happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was my first time trying to bake a red velvet cake from scratch at home. I followed the recipe for the cake, but decided to do a cream cheese frosting for the cake. I did not like the cake itself. It came out dry, and if it weren't for the frosting, I couldn't eat it. Plus, the taste it self was sub par. Maybe I did something wrong...I am not sure, but I will be trying a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This cake had a terrible taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This cake was good. This was my first time cooking a cake from scratch and it turned out ok. The cake tasted great but my cake fell and it came apart when i took it out the pans to dry. The icing was ok also but I think next time I will try cream cheese. The overall appearance of my cake was not good but the taste of the cake was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Owens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Wow I used this recipe for cup cakes. I've been trying out a lot of cake recipes on here and this is by far the best one yet!!! Its so soft and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States