Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The taste was very good. I was a little disappointed that it used food coloring because I'm always looking for red velvet cakes that obtain their color from the cocoa. I had problems getting it to rise using the method described, and probably over folded it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Delicious. I served this at a cook-out and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly after reading the reviews. It was not too dense and tasted great. I will make it again with some applesauce or I'll take it out just a whisker earlier - I prefer very moist cake. The frosting was unusual to me, but tasted very good. I plan to try a vanilla buttercream for comparison. Thanks for sharing this-it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VDODDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made the some minor adjustments as recommended. The frosting was okay but I guess I'm more of a cream cheese frosting type of gal. The cake came out perfect. I used two bottles of the red food coloring (out of curiosity) and it cames out to a gorgeous deep red color. The cake looked like Christmas red against white frosting. I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Glory Sison Crowell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Sorry, I even made this twice, but it was very dry and difficult to remove from the pan even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Soo wonderful. The cake was light and fluffy and absolutely delicious! I used water and beet juice instead of food coloring- it wasn't red but everyone still enjoyed it. The frosting was absolutely amazing. So light and buttery this is going to be my go-to red velvet cake recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
ive had much better cakes that took half of this much effort...good but nothing wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Thank you to everyone who posted their additions and changes to this recipe. I read reviews on each red velvet cake recipe stuck with this one. I actually used 1 cup of veg oil and used 3 1/2 tablespoons of cocoa. I did check the cake every three minutes for the last 10 minutes. The middle of the cake still wasn't done all the way, so next time I will leave it in a little longer. The cake was very moist and oohhh so yummy. I love to bake and for my very first time making this, it was beyond good. Can't wait for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This cake is AWESOME! I had never made red velvet from scratch before and it was absolutely delicious. My husband is not a big fan of cakes but this rocked his world. The icing sounded like too much work so I used Cream cheese frosting II instead and served it after a few hours in the fridge. Before serving I added shaved white chocolate and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made a few red velvet cakes before from allrecipes.com, and all of them works. but not this one: it came out is soggy and didnt hold together and crumbs so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
a Great cake not that well known in the uk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States