Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This cake was amazing and fluffy! I made it for my friends Sweet 16 and it was a HIT. I added butter cream roses for decoration and put a layer of marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammiHelene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious. 10/10 would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have made this cake many times and with great success. I do not change one thing about it, make it just as written. I was requested to make it for a fundraiser, and the people bidding on it knew about it. It raised $54.00! I was pleased and so were the ones who got to eat it. I iced it with cream cheese icing, placed fresh raspberries around the diameter and drizzled loganberry syrup around the edge to drip down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This recipe is great. I make it exactly as written and it wows people every time. Some tips: Start checking cake at 20 minutes and take out of oven when toothpick comes out ALMOST clean. When it comes out clean it's already a tad too dry. Let your eggs and buttermilk reach room temp before starting. Once you mix you baking soda and vinegar move fast but still gently. I made with this frosting and w/cream cheese and liked it both ways. I prefer cream cheese though =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This recipe was great the cake turned out moist and the icing perfect! I would definitely use this recipe again knowing how well it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Definitely the best recipe I've found. Just like my grandmother used to make. It is a complicated recipe... you really want to be ready to take the cake from vinegar and baking soda to oven in as little time as possible. Also with the icing don't use any kind of spreadable butter. I had an issue where I didn't have enough butter and had to do a small substitution with spreadable butter and the icing came out lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Today (11/3/2013) is the third time I've made this cake. This is the third time it's been absolutely delicious and PERFECT. Great texture, great crumb, great flavor, great look. However... I used gel food coloring instead of liquid. Used about 1.5 tablespoons of the gel coloring and the color is just great. Your mileage may vary, however. People giving negatives: Try again. You may just be doing a step too quick or not right or maybe even missing something. I am a completely novice baker (only started baking about 2 months ago) and this cake is a hit with everyone so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great recipe! I made cupcakes with this and it turned out great! I did let the icing cool before putting them on the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I am the baker for a resort restaurant and am extremely familiar with the baking techniques used in this recipe. I've been getting requests for red velvet cake and decided to try this one since it had good ratings, and I will continue to look for a recipe. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and my cake just crumbled. Completely non-salvageable. I have to give the crumbles a 5 star, they were very tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States