Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I baked the cake too long and cooked the roux not long enough, so the cake had a crust and the icing was a bit soft, but the recipe is excellent, you just have to *follow* it. Also I don't think the color is important (has nothing to do with the flavor or anything) so I used vanilla-infused rum instead of food coloring to make the cocoa paste. I ate a lot of batter and frosting while making this cake, so now I feel sick, but happy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Percy Anthony
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe! I bet it'd be better if I got the baking soda & vinegar mix in faster. That and if I had used buttermilk instead of regular milk. And if it hadn't been teal. Ran out of red coloring. Anyway it was a great recipe and despite my own faults it was fantastic, 10/10 would bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I am an experienced baker, but the cake didn't rise and just turned to goo I my cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The cake came out dry after baking the required amount of time, and the frosting didn't come out FLUFFY! I had to add additional powdered sugar to even get it to the right consistency. I don't know what I did wrong, but I cooked the flour and milk to a 'thick' consistency. I want to find a different recipe to use in the future. One that isn't so dry and the frosting comes out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windom, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I did not make the cake just the frosting. It was great. Make sure you mix it long enough. The flour mixture did not look tasty, but once added to the butter mixture it makes a wonderful frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I didn't use the cake recipe, only the icing. Excellent! Didn't change a thing and would not change a thing. However, even having read the most useful comment, I still managed to under beat the sugar and butter. I didn't check before I added in the milk mixture and only realized as I started icing the cake that the sugar particles were still not dissolved. No problem, put the icing back in the stand mixer and beat it for an additional 5 minutes. It became even fluffier than before. First time making this type of frosting but will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is my son's favorite birthday cake. It has very good flavor. I have to work on improving my technique. It's hit and miss but worth every bite improving how I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This cake was amazing and fluffy! I made it for my friends Sweet 16 and it was a HIT. I added butter cream roses for decoration and put a layer of marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammiHelene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious. 10/10 would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have made this cake many times and with great success. I do not change one thing about it, make it just as written. I was requested to make it for a fundraiser, and the people bidding on it knew about it. It raised $54.00! I was pleased and so were the ones who got to eat it. I iced it with cream cheese icing, placed fresh raspberries around the diameter and drizzled loganberry syrup around the edge to drip down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States